missing detail props?

Afterglow375

L1: Registered
Oct 1, 2012
I'm not very experienced tbh, so this may be a noob question. My detail props on my displacements aren't getting compiled.

Code:
Material NATURE/BLENDGROUNDTOGRASS008 uses unknown detail object type tf_forest_grass!

What's the fix? I tried editing the vmt to change tf_forest_grass to some of the ones listed here:
https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Detail_props

but that didn't work either...

tyler

aa
Sep 11, 2013
You need to go into the Map Properties panel and change the detail sprites to the one matching the VMT you're using. You can only have one detail sprite per map.

For forest grass, you want to use the trainyard sprites. I think the default is 2fort, or something like that? I don't want to open Hammer to confirm right now. You just need to change the two fields to both be trainyard instead of whatever they are.

ROFLsnakes

L2: Junior Member
Apr 24, 2012
yyler is correct 2fort is the default, and all you need to do is change the map name to one that has those sprites.I looked for you and you can do either sawmill or trainyard. You go under

Maps-->Map Properties-->Then Change "detail/detailsprites" to either "detail/detailsprites_trainyard" or "detail/detailsprites_sawmill"

I recommend getting the mapper's resource pack that's free for download,if you haven't already.The pack comes with a plug-in that tells you what each texture's sprites are with a color code so you can easily determine what you need to change your sprites too.

Afterglow375

Oct 1, 2012
okay i did this and it still doesnt work. The errors are gone from the compile log, but the detail props are not showing up, both in hammer's 3d view and in game. I tried it with both trainyard and sawmill.

Seba

DR. BIG FUCKER, PHD
aa
Jun 9, 2009
Just making sure, did you place prop_details or are you painting alpha?

Afterglow375

Oct 1, 2012