Microphone doesn't work...

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Midlou, Jan 13, 2019 at 8:51 PM.

  1. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    When I do load up a source game (Tf2, cs:go) I get this error in console:
    unable to initialize sound capture. you won't be able to speak to other players

    I already tried every single solution in the google results!
     
  2. VasyaTheWizard

    VasyaTheWizard L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    50
    Positive Ratings:
    29
    How is this related to mapping?

    Edit: Didn't mean any harm, just asked out of curiosity.
     
    • Respectfully Disagree Respectfully Disagree x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019 at 12:23 PM
  3. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    Thank you for your help.
     
  4. Kobolite

    aa Kobolite Your local dutch person

    Messages:
    641
    Positive Ratings:
    530
    This is a tf2 community. Just because it is centered around maps doesn’t mean that every question as to be about mapping
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. hutty

    aa hutty

    Messages:
    511
    Positive Ratings:
    396
    Does your microphone work in other programs?
    What is your default mic set to in the audio settings?
    What OS are you on?
    Is it USB or Audio Jack?
    Are you in the Steam Client Beta?
     
  6. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    "Mic in at front panel (pink)" - the problem persist even at rear
    Win10.
    Audio Jack.
    Nope.
     
  7. hutty

    aa hutty

    Messages:
    511
    Positive Ratings:
    396
    Does it work in other programs?
    What does windows list as your default audio Mic device.
    upload_2019-1-14_9-39-6.png
    it should have a little green check by it, you can get to this window by rightclicking the volume icon and selecting recording devices. (on windows 8 at least)
     
  8. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    Yep, I use the microphone in the Discord normally...

    [​IMG]
     
  9. hutty

    aa hutty

    Messages:
    511
    Positive Ratings:
    396
  10. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
  11. nesman

    aa nesman oh god how did this get here

    Messages:
    236
    Positive Ratings:
    69
    does steam itself detect the microphone when you shift+tab -> settings
     
  12. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    Yep...
     
  13. Nethy

    Nethy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    All Vasya is saying is that should this post is in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' when it would be more accurate to have placed it in 'Team Fortress 2 talk' or 'Off Topic'. (Not to resurrect that argument, but I just felt it was kind of rude to sarcastically / reprimand Vasya with down votes when they brought a valid point).

    However, for solutions.

    Try:
    1.) Standard Solution
    • Click Start, go to ⚙ Settings> Privacy Settings> Microphone.
    • Turn On "Allow apps to access your microphone"
    • Should be fixed then
    2.) Another solution
    • Copy the file dsound.dll from your Windows\system32
    • replace the dsound.dll in CSGO/Tf2 folder
      • You will have to find the Tf2 Alternative of:
        • SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\Counter-Strike Global Offensive\dsound.dll
    3.) A technical grey area solution
    • right click my computer>properties>advanced system settings>enviroment variables>
    • click "user variables for commander"
    • click "new"
      • on the top line input: devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices
      • on the second line input: 1
    • click ok
    • now go to right click my computer>properties>device manager> sound, video and game controllers
    • go through every greyed out device and manually uninstall the drivers for each.
      • WARNING: Some people accidentally uninstalled a few drivers, which caused their headphones to stop working: saying "It says they're not plugged in"
      • tl:dr - be cautious of this method
    • Should be fixed
    4.) Another Technical Solution
    • If you right click on the speaker icon in the taskbar of windows and go to recording devices
    • see your headset there and enabled but it will go away then come back in 5 second intervals over and over
    • this constant change caused CSGO/Tf2 to not initialize the recording device because it kept going in and out.
    • To fix it:
      • right click it when it came back
      • quickly go to properties> advanced and in the drop down changed from 16 bit CD quality to 16 bit DVD quality and that made it stop disappearing and now CS/Tf2 is fine.
        • May have to fiddle with 16 bit and select other options

    5.)
    Worst Case: If all fails then you just gotta restore your computer to factory settings
    6.) Sketchy Third Party App (https://sourceforge.net/projects/equalizerapo/)
    • Try downloading "Equalizer APO".
    • If you cant find it after downloading, go to C:\Program Files\Equalizer APO\Editor.exe
    • After running the program, it will detect the problem and requested a pc restart.
      • Apparently works?

    Just a disclaimer: Half of this was cross referenced from a CS:GO forum with the exact same issue while the others were referenced from a Tf2 forum.

    Anyway, Good luck & hopefully you can fix your problem!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019 at 4:59 PM
  14. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    I found exactly these results when I did my google research... None worked :\
     
  15. VasyaTheWizard

    VasyaTheWizard L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    50
    Positive Ratings:
    29
    Are you sure the microphone itself is actually working? Do you have any other mics you can try?
     
  16. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    Yep i'm sure, I use it on Discord... and I tested another microphone and the problem persists...
     
  17. nesman

    aa nesman oh god how did this get here

    Messages:
    236
    Positive Ratings:
    69
    Have you tried reinstalling steam or the game that was giving you issues?
     
  18. Midlou

    Midlou L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    Yep =\
     
  19. nesman

    aa nesman oh god how did this get here

    Messages:
    236
    Positive Ratings:
    69
    there must be some setting if tf2, steam, or windows that makes it so the games do not use it properly.
     
  20. VasyaTheWizard

    VasyaTheWizard L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    50
    Positive Ratings:
    29
    As a last resort, you could try resetting all of your TF2 configuration.

    Delete the tf/cfg folder and launch TF2 with -autoconfig