Mapper's Block?

• If you're asking a question make sure to set the thread type to be a question!

Akura

L1: Registered
Jun 10, 2009
Im pretty new to mapping, the only map ive ever made was the how-to from PC Gamer. My problem now is that i can't seem to come up with any ideas for maps! Is there anything i could try in order to get around this "Mapper's Block"?

Vigilante212

L420: High Member
Dec 21, 2008
What I did to come up with my map idea was google old mining buildings, and i used some of those for ideas.

shadowfax

Jul 23, 2009
Get some paper and a pencil and just start doodling. I find this to be very helpful when I have "mappers block". Just sketching out overviews and various layouts. Eventually some themes start to come to mind and before you know it you have an idea strong enough to start making in hammer.

Also, play some TF2 and while playing examine the map you are on. See what was done that makes it fun, see what kind of things haven't been done.

Eternal

L69: Deviant Member
Jul 8, 2009
I have tons of grandiose ideas myself, I find my mappers block tends to come with the details and such of the area. Try listening to some music, and most importantly play a variety of games (and read books! REEDIG IZ GUD FIR BRIAN). Also go look at some paintings or pictures of landscapes.

Open Blade

L420: High Member
Nov 30, 2007
Another thing you can do, which I do often but I'm not sure if other mappers do this, if you are having map blocks, don't try to think of the entire map, it can be overwhelming. Just try and think of the layout for a certain stage of your map or even just a small area such as a string of a few buildings. Once you start to lay those down, often things just come to you and you start putting more stuff down. I do end up changing things out from time to time but I find this way of mapping can at least get you working and out of the "I'm stuck" mode.

Feb 14, 2008