Map suddenly goes fullbright when playing.

• If you're asking a question make sure to set the thread type to be a question!

Zurby

L2: Junior Member
Jul 18, 2016
Hello

So I'm currently making my first map, I have little experience and don't know what can cause my map going fullbright (if that's the right term) basically, it thinks my scene has no lighting, so everything is evenly lit..

But when I previously tried my map, everything worked fine. inbetween my compiles and tests I did switch gamemode of the map, I made my skybox bigger and further expanded my map.

Screenshot_4.png

As seen on the picture, those are all the entities my map has some basic lighting, fog and shadow (plus lightings from the aaa_lightinglibrary). I never touched that so I don't know if that's the issue?
My skybox is atm also just a big box around my map, because the shape of my mountains are not there yet.

Any ideas what can cause a map to go fullbright? Or do you see anything out of the ordinary on my screenshot?

Thanks in advance.

Idolon

they/them
aa
Feb 7, 2008
Are you reloading the game between compiles? If you load a map that has fullbright, any maps loaded after that (or the same map reloaded) will also be fullbright, even if they should have lighting. You can fix this by restarting the game or using mat_fullbright 0 in the console (which disables fullbright, assuming the loaded map has lighting).

If that's not the issue, post your compile log.

Zurby

Jul 18, 2016
@Idolon I tried restarting hammer aswell as using the "mat_fullbright 0",sadly enough no change.

here's the compile log

** Executing...
** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\tryhard map\tryhardmap"

Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Jul 26 2016)
8 threads