Map Crashing

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by World Of Frisbee Crisis, Apr 20, 2008.

1. World Of Frisbee Crisis

World Of Frisbee Crisis L2: Junior Member

Positive Ratings:
    Okay, so for some reason, my map crashes about 6-7 seconds after the match starts. So I looked in my compile log and all I could find is that "Can't load skybox file some_texture to build the default cubemap!" error. So, could this crash a map or is there any other reason for it to crash?

2. trainRiderJ

trainRiderJ L5: Dapper Member

Positive Ratings:
    It's probably something else, but I'm not an expert. Does it always crash after a certain time, or is it when you go to a certain area that just happens to take that long to get to?

3. Foreverkul

Foreverkul L4: Comfortable Member

Positive Ratings:
    Its not the sky box, thats a different problem.
    What kind of stuff do you have in the map? Triggers, entities, functions? If it is a CP map make sure all you're trigger_capturezones have an associated capture point or else entering that zone will cause it to crash. It could also be physics objects that screw each other up (though I doubt you're using any func_physbox)

4. rt3407v06p909

rt3407v06p909 L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    Before you start the map, type 'developer 2' at the console, and then review the output and/or paste it here in the thread if it doesn't lead you in the right direction. And/Or enable logging and look at the log.

If 'developer 2' doesn't provide enough detail, try 'developer 4'

Taken from here.

5. World Of Frisbee Crisis

World Of Frisbee Crisis L2: Junior Member

Positive Ratings:
  6. kimangroo

kimangroo L3: Member

Positive Ratings:
    I don't much about developer compile logs or whatever, but a quick look at the error message you posted would suggest: