map crashes when i walk in a certain area

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by poopster101, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    it says i have a leak and whenever i delete the supposed cause of the leak, it makes up a new cause.
    i can load the map and walk some
    but when i walk out the door
    bam
    i freeze
    and have to quit
    i already ran my log through interlopers
    here it is
    help is greatly appreciated


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Reid.ReidsPC\Desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Mar 11 2008)
    2 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\Reid.ReidsPC\Desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Entity team_control_point_master (-1120.00 -240.00 -247.00) leaked!
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 8 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (33573 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 78 texinfos to 67
    Reduced 17 texdatas to 16 (496 bytes to 474)
    Writing C:\Users\Reid.ReidsPC\Desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.bsp
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Reid.ReidsPC\Desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Mar 11 2008)
    2 threads
    reading c:\users\reid.reidspc\desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.bsp
    reading c:\users\reid.reidspc\desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\users\reid.reidspc\desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Reid.ReidsPC\Desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Mar 11 2008)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    2 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\users\reid.reidspc\desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.06 seconds)
    731 faces
    92618 square feet [13337088.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    24 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0051 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (3)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 8/1024 384/49152 ( 0.8%)
    brushes 89/8192 1068/98304 ( 1.1%)
    brushsides 570/65536 4560/524288 ( 0.9%)
    planes 362/65536 7240/1310720 ( 0.6%)
    vertexes 864/65536 10368/786432 ( 1.3%)
    nodes 394/65536 12608/2097152 ( 0.6%)
    texinfos 67/12288 4824/884736 ( 0.5%)
    texdata 16/2048 512/65536 ( 0.8%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 731/65536 40936/3670016 ( 1.1%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 407/65536 22792/3670016 ( 0.6%)
    leaves 403/65536 12896/2097152 ( 0.6%)
    leaffaces 775/65536 1550/131072 ( 1.2%)
    leafbrushes 151/65536 302/131072 ( 0.2%)
    areas 2/256 16/2048 ( 0.8%)
    surfedges 4878/512000 19512/2048000 ( 1.0%)
    edges 2700/256000 10800/1024000 ( 1.1%)
    LDR worldlights 24/8192 2112/720896 ( 0.3%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 41/32768 410/327680 ( 0.1%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 657/65536 1314/131072 ( 1.0%)
    cubemapsamples 4/1024 64/16384 ( 0.4%)
    overlays 2/512 704/180224 ( 0.4%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 236604/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 26071/393216 ( 6.6%)
    LDR ambient table 403/65536 1612/262144 ( 0.6%)
    HDR ambient table 403/65536 1612/262144 ( 0.6%)
    LDR leaf ambient 1396/65536 39088/1835008 ( 2.1%)
    HDR leaf ambient 403/65536 11284/1835008 ( 0.6%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/276 ( 0.4%)
    pakfile [variable] 529446/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 33573/4194304 ( 0.8%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 1800
    Writing c:\users\reid.reidspc\desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.bsp
    4 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Users\Reid.ReidsPC\Desktop\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.bsp" "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\rmoney101\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_deathboxofdoom_b2.bsp"
     
  2. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    You can't just delete stuff to make the leak go away, you've got a hole in your map, imagine your map is a submarine, the leak means the voide outside is flooding in.
    You have to load the point file (map>load pointfile) then find where the red line is 'escaping' the map and plug it with a regular brush.

    Also, infuture whenever you have an error check this - http://www.interlopers.net/index.php?page=errors
     
  3. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    i did run it through interlopers
    and it told me there was a leak
    but the pointfile thing
    the red line goes directly througha brush
    i tried recreating the brush
    didn't work
    and when i delete what entity it says is causing the leak
    teh red line thing moves to a new brush that is near the new entity
     
  4. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    The brushes aren't normal world brushes then, I assume
    displacements do not block vis, and don't seal your map
    brush entities also don't block vis so the red line will happily pass though them too.
     
  5. Lord Ned

    Lord Ned L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    421
    Positive Ratings:
    174
    Then why did I bring ducttape?


    Also use +showbudget while you walk, if any of the bars get really high, post which one it is, and i'll try to figure out what's crashing ya.
     
  6. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    the brushes it passes through are all normal world brushes and when i double click them it says solid with six faces
    so i don't think thats the problem
     
  7. Lord Ned

    Lord Ned L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    421
    Positive Ratings:
    174
    It's probably going around.
     
  8. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
  9. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    this is what i'm talking about
    it goes right through[​IMG]
     
  10. grazr

    aa grazr Old Man Mutant Ninja Turtle

    Messages:
    5,436
    Positive Ratings:
    3,557
    The entity isn't causing the leak, it's the first entity/closest entity to the leak that was detected as being "outside the world" Deleting it will only cause a defferent entity to "leak" first.

    Your floor is not a displacement? Then the only thing i can think of is that your brushes are misaligned; they are either not aligned/snapped to the grid or you created a brush after placing an entity and didn't realign all the faces to the grid. As hammer creates a brush to the dimension of the last object selected along the axes of the 2d view you are not manipulating the brush in (which can create annoying errors if the last object was an entity, as an entities dimensions are not always, if rarely, to the same scale as your grid). But maybe this isn't the case as it looks like you've used the hollow tool.

    In the top view, what are those diagonal lines? They look conspicuous.

    EDIT: Here is your problem.

    [​IMG]

    When constructing your world you should treat the walls like a shell. In the following image, i know there is a big hole in the roof, it was intended as a demonstration for creating holes but i'm using it to show you how the walls should connect. Look in the 2d veiws, the walls meet/join each other at the egdes. Create your walls and floors like this. An 'advanced' technique is to use diagonal corners for inside the world to cut down on exposed faces, but you'll get to that when you learn the vertex manipulation tool. Look at the corners, especially in the bottom two screens.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2008
  11. Nineaxis

    aa Nineaxis Quack Doctor

    Messages:
    1,767
    Positive Ratings:
    1,403
    Where's the red line in those three other views? You aren't looking at the right thing. (Unless, for some reason, you spliced that screenshot with a few others...)
     
  12. grazr

    aa grazr Old Man Mutant Ninja Turtle

    Messages:
    5,436
    Positive Ratings:
    3,557
    Does anyone know the implications of using a transparent/glass texture on the outside of your world? This guy also has the glass texture on the outside on the floor and sides of his floor brushes, i'm not sure whether that changes anything, but it's only where this leak is. If not then it must be what i said before. Otherwise. I'm not sure, all his brushes seem connected other than the fact that they need to wrap around the world fully.
     
  13. Lord Ned

    Lord Ned L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    421
    Positive Ratings:
    174
    Transparent textures can't touch the void they leak.
     
  14. grazr

    aa grazr Old Man Mutant Ninja Turtle

    Messages:
    5,436
    Positive Ratings:
    3,557
    We got there eventually then.. retexture your glass textured faces that are exposed to the void.
     
  15. Géza!

    Géza! L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    183
    Positive Ratings:
    21
    Or put a nice eyecandy room behind those glass textured faces. Anyway, close the void out of your map.
     
  16. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    ok so if i were to make all my walls look like the ones in the screen you posted it should work?
    and i should retexure the glass to something else
    i can do that
    but
    in the meantime just to see if there were any other errors, i enclosed the entire thing in a big box which i know is a big no-no, but the leak went away as expected but when i run the map, i crash when i walk out the spawn area
    here is the updated vmf
    one last lookover would be greatly appreciated
    andi tried the showbudget thing
    and it froze along with my game
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ugqvdsf1rno
     
  17. Nineaxis

    aa Nineaxis Quack Doctor

    Messages:
    1,767
    Positive Ratings:
    1,403
    You could put a skybox rectangle enclosing the outside of the glass...
     
  18. poopster101

    poopster101 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    155
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    my problem is no longer the leak
    it is the seemingly random crash
    i just am walking and in the same spot i just crash
     
  19. Lord Ned

    Lord Ned L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    421
    Positive Ratings:
    174
    I already told you what to do. We can't tell you what crashes (If it's performance related) if you don't give us a picture of the +showbudget around the crash area.


    And I'm too lazy to download/compile it and test it myself.
     
  20. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    Cap point areas pointing to non existant capture points crashes the map, thats one thing that is extra apparrent whilst compiling payload maps with the cordon tool, check all the cap point areas are pointing to the right locations