1. For information on the current problems with the download system, please see this thread.

Our servers are now running a Steam Workshop rotation, if you'd like your map to be considered for inclusion on our rotation, post in the rotation discussion thread

Or, if you just want to play some of the best community maps the Workshop has to offer, you can join our servers by clicking these links:

Major Leak Problem

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Kazagin, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    So I tried compiling my map about half an hour ago, and it didn't work.
    I put my Compile Log on Interlopers, and it told me two things.
    1.) I had a leak
    2.) I had a displacement edge abutting multiple other edges
    3.) I had vvis running in "fast" mode.

    This isn't my final compile, mind you, so the vvis fast isn't a problem.
    It said I could ignore the displacement thing because all it did was mess with the lighting, also saying that it can be ignored.
    Which brings me to the leak...

    When I was first told that my map had a leak, I immediately deleted my Skybox, and made a new, bigger one. I thought that doing so would fix the leak... I was mistaken.
    Not much else can be said, I have a leak in a brand new Skybox. Nothing is outside of it, and it's new, so nothing could have punctured it.
    I tried the "Load Pointfile" thing, but I can't find the Pointfile.

    Interlopers says that this is due to me nothing having entities, yet I have eighteen (18) properly functioning Spawn Points.

    Anyway, why don't I have a Pointfile? Is there a special kind of entity I need?
     
  2. DJive

    aa DJive Cake or Death?

    Messages:
    1,466
    Positive Ratings:
    735
    Leak can be because you have func_detail into space or your skybox brush is not touching all the brushes to create a nice seal.

    I'm not doing anything so if you want, send it my say and ill see what the leak could be.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. alecom

    alecom L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    516
    Positive Ratings:
    120
    Did you make a big skybox brush then hollow it out? (not a good idea)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    That's is exactly what I did.
    I thought that it was the correct way to make a Skybox. :unsure:
    And Djive, I really appreciate the offer, but I don't know how to send maps to other people. How do I send a map to other people?
    Also, if you don't mind, can you take a look over it and give me some advice on improving it?
     
  5. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    404
    The best way to go about it is to think of the skybox texture as "super holographic ceiling and wall paint" and that everything is a series of rooms and tunnels underground.

    ...Comprising the set of "The Truman Show 2".
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  6. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    Upon further investigation (retracing my steps though what I did since my last successful compile), I fixed the leak!
    I was using a Nodraw box to act as a boundary between the playable area and little bits of playable, but unreachable areas.
    I got rid of it and made the Skybox Brush hug the water brush (the biggest brush in the map) and now the leak is gone. :)

    Unfortunately, I still can't compile.
    I got an Error Message stating
    "The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    'The system cannot find the file specified.'"

    That is what was happening when I first found out about the leak, and I thought that the leak was the problem.
     
  7. DJive

    aa DJive Cake or Death?

    Messages:
    1,466
    Positive Ratings:
    735
    Make sure you don't have a space in the file name.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    I changed the map name to "Pancakes" (as a homage to Scout), and it still gives me the error.
    I'm going to take a break for about half an hour, so I won't be responding until 9 PM EST.
    EDIT: OK, I'm back.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  9. alecom

    alecom L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    516
    Positive Ratings:
    120
    It will give the "can't find file" when it can't complete the first stage of the compile (bsp), meaning the file is not created. This is needed for the other two stages (vis and rad), so it gives you the error.

    Also, if you made the skyboxes properly now (not just a hollowed out brush, now separate connecting wall skyboxes with a ceiling skybox) you will be able to get a pointfile - if there is a leak.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  10. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    The leak has been fixed, so I'm fine with that.
    Why is it unable to complete the first stage of the compile?
     
  11. alecom

    alecom L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    516
    Positive Ratings:
    120
    Post us your compile log?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    404
    You may want to use the playerclip tools texture instead, which will prevent players from passing but will still allow rockets and grenades to sail over into the unreachable areas. It looks more realistic. (And I believe it won't cause extra visleaves.)

    It's very seldom I've had to put a nodraw texture on something that players can directly "see", barring water volumes.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    Playerclip? I didn't know they had that kind of texture.
    It'll make making the Raygun off-limits easier, too.
     
  14. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (May 19 2009)
    2 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/pancakes/nature/blendrockgroundwallforest_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_hydro_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_hydro_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Found a displacement edge abutting multiple other edges.
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    Displacement 40 has bad geometry near 5744.44 -4589.08 -1793.64
    Can't compile displacement physics, exiting. Texture is EGYPT/SAND_GRASS_BLEND_01


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\team fortress 2\tf" -fast "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (May 19 2009)
    fastvis = true
    2 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\team fortress 2\tf" -noextra "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (May 19 2009)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    2 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\kazagin\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\Pancakes.bsp" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kazagin\team fortress 2\tf\maps\Pancakes.bsp"

    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    "The system cannot find the file specified."


    Here's my compile log.
    I made two posts because I didn't what the comment to Terr to get lost in this giant heap of compile.
     
  15. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    404
    BTW, this is a useful resource:
    http://optimization.interlopers.net/index.php?chapter=notices

    Has some pictures about how best to fit in the skybox.

    That's the problem. Fix that displacement. Hammer has a "go to coordinates" option in the dropdowns which will take you there, or (if displacement number is the same as brush number) use "Go to brush number..." instead.

    The compile process is, by default, really simpleminded: VVIS relies on VBSP to lay groundwork, but it doesn't always know if VBSP failed. They just get run one-after-another. Every single one could print out "OMG I AM CRASHING" and the next one would still try to run as if nothing happaned.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  16. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    Seriously?
    Interlopers mis-lead me... It said that I could ignore that...
    Oh well, off to fix the ****storm I call displacements.
     
  17. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    404
    You can ignore that skybox warning, but it looks like that displacement thing is the culprit to me...

    Displacements aren't that bad, they're just tricky to figure out at first. (That particular guide helped me get the damn "Face Normal" option to work--I had assumed the direction change was automatic, but you need to alt-rightclick...)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  18. alecom

    alecom L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    516
    Positive Ratings:
    120
    THAT is what you can ignore, three (or more) displacement edges touching won't make the compile crash.


    while still about displacements, is something different. Odd the interlopers thing didn't pick it up but hey - the compile log gives a fairly good idea of what went wrong.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. Kazagin

    Kazagin L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    9
    That it does.
    Now I just gotta make brushes that transition a river into an ocean...
    Also, why are there weird one-sided squares showing up anywhere I change the edges of a brush using displacements?
    How do I fix them?
    (I can't fix one thing without breaking another, lol...)
     
  20. alecom

    alecom L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    516
    Positive Ratings:
    120
    uhh... the opposite side of a displacement will be invisible..
    If you want to see it in hammer, press the DD button at the top, and it will show you the sides as nodraw
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1