Issues with a leak or something...

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Kagatos, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. Kagatos

    Kagatos L1: Registered

    Messages:
    31
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Heya all,

    I'm having some issues with hammer recently.
    1- Things don't save right. example: Move a wall, save, run (and its moved), close hammer, next day wall is back where it was on load. This happens with items that have undergone vertex manipulation as well.
    2- Some things don't delete. Like the save issue, I've deleted stuff, saved, done other things and next time I load up the map sometimes the deleted stuff is back, sometimes not.

    These are annoying to say the least....but my main issue currently (Which I hope is causing the above issues) Is I get a leak warning on compile but the model thats leaking is random, the most recent being a respawnroom visualizer. Along with a bunch of:

    Which I'm guessing is the cause, but I have no idea on how to fix...any ideas?

    Thanks in advance,

    -Kagatos


    [Log]

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Kagatos\Downloads\TF2 Mapping\testingcrap.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Jul 7 2010)
    2 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\Kagatos\Downloads\TF2 Mapping\testingcrap.vmf
    ConVarRef mat_reduceparticles doesn't point to an existing ConVar
    Patching WVT material: maps/testingcrap/dev/dev_blendmeasure2_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Entity func_respawnroomvisualizer (575.00 -512.00 47.00) leaked!

    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3072.0 2224.0 72.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3072.0 2224.0 456.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3072.0 2736.0 128.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (4096.0 2560.0 128.0)
    Leaf 0 contents:
    Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3584.0 3072.0 128.0)
    Leaf 0 contents:
    Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3136.0 1024.0 -240.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3136.0 1024.0 88.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3136.0 1024.0 456.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:

    *** Suppressing further FindPortalSide errors.... ***
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 108 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_morningsnow_01 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_morningsnow_01 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_morningsnow_01 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_morningsnow_01 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (1) (236189 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 709 texinfos to 430
    Reduced 51 texdatas to 44 (1782 bytes to 1557)
    Writing C:\Users\Kagatos\Downloads\TF2 Mapping\testingcrap.bsp
    2 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Kagatos\Downloads\TF2 Mapping\testingcrap"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Jul 7 2010)
    2 threads
    reading c:\users\kagatos\downloads\tf2 mapping\testingcrap.bsp
    reading c:\users\kagatos\downloads\tf2 mapping\testingcrap.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\users\kagatos\downloads\tf2 mapping\testingcrap.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Kagatos\Downloads\TF2 Mapping\testingcrap"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Jul 7 2010)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    2 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\users\kagatos\downloads\tf2 mapping\testingcrap.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.87 seconds)
    1833 faces
    390694 square feet [56260020.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    sun extent from map=0.000000
    156 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (26)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0195 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (2)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (10)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 21/1024 1008/49152 ( 2.1%)
    brushes 682/8192 8184/98304 ( 8.3%)
    brushsides 4506/65536 36048/524288 ( 6.9%)
    planes 1194/65536 23880/1310720 ( 1.8%)
    vertexes 3998/65536 47976/786432 ( 6.1%)
    nodes 1840/65536 58880/2097152 ( 2.8%)
    texinfos 430/12288 30960/884736 ( 3.5%)
    texdata 44/2048 1408/65536 ( 2.1%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 1833/65536 102648/3670016 ( 2.8%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 1202/65536 67312/3670016 ( 1.8%)
    leaves 1862/65536 59584/2097152 ( 2.8%)
    leaffaces 2483/65536 4966/131072 ( 3.8%)
    leafbrushes 1278/65536 2556/131072 ( 2.0%)
    areas 3/256 24/2048 ( 1.2%)
    surfedges 13767/512000 55068/2048000 ( 2.7%)
    edges 8737/256000 34948/1024000 ( 3.4%)
    LDR worldlights 156/8192 13728/720896 ( 1.9%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 296/32768 2960/327680 ( 0.9%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 4962/65536 9924/131072 ( 7.6%)
    cubemapsamples 27/1024 432/16384 ( 2.6%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 1795096/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 80109/393216 (20.4%)
    LDR ambient table 1862/65536 7448/262144 ( 2.8%)
    HDR ambient table 1862/65536 7448/262144 ( 2.8%)
    LDR leaf ambient 12364/65536 346192/1835008 (18.9%)
    HDR leaf ambient 1862/65536 52136/1835008 ( 2.8%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/5768 ( 0.0%)
    pakfile [variable] 6446/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 236189/4194304 ( 5.6%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 5305
    Writing c:\users\kagatos\downloads\tf2 mapping\testingcrap.bsp
    38 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Users\Kagatos\Downloads\TF2 Mapping\testingcrap.bsp" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kagatos\team fortress 2\tf\maps\testingcrap.bsp"

    [/Log]
     
  2. Lancey

    aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,076
    Positive Ratings:
    1,314
    Other than your map leaking, you also have several invalid solids. Invalid solids are brushes that aren't convex, and they'll revert to their previous shape on next load. As to why deleted things are coming back I'm unsure.

    Edit:

    Mark my words - this isn't caused by a leak. Your PortalSide errors are, however.
     
  3. Kagatos

    Kagatos L1: Registered

    Messages:
    31
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Okay, I figured it was the portalside stuff...but everytime I grab the cords and put em in it takes me into the void with nothing around... I have no idea on what to do....even going to Interlopers it gives vague:

    from Interlopers:
    But since going to the area leaves me in the void with nothing around for good distance what am I supposed to do? I haven't found any good info yet on what to do about this...but maybe I'm not looking under the right heading so what should I be searching for info wise?
     
  4. Kagatos

    Kagatos L1: Registered

    Messages:
    31
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    [Update)

    Okay, I did the ugly Giant box O Doom around the whole level and it sealed...no errors on compile(well besides the skybox one).

    So that means that it is a leak somewhere....so how the hell would I find it?
     
  5. Lancey

    aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,076
    Positive Ratings:
    1,314
    I said you had a leak. Map > Load Pointfile. Follow the red line, don't let it escape.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Kagatos

    Kagatos L1: Registered

    Messages:
    31
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Sorry, tired...I just saw this and thought it wasn't a leak for some reason.

    Thanks for the help, I'll start looking tomorrow...

    follow the red line, follow the red line....
     
  7. PL-7764

    PL-7764 L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    376
    Positive Ratings:
    67
    As a heads-up, the red line will start from the leaking entity, which may be hard to find manually. To go straight to it, use the View drop-down menu and select Go to coordinates, and enter the coordinates given in the compile log for the leaking entity. From your posted log, that would be 575.00 -512.00 47.00.
     
  8. Lancey

    aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,076
    Positive Ratings:
    1,314
    It's pretty easy to find manually IMO
     
  9. PL-7764

    PL-7764 L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    376
    Positive Ratings:
    67
    I guess when it's a func_respawnroomvisualizer that's leaking it's pretty easy (didn't thoroughly read that part of the log before). I'm used to it being something like a prop_static or a light, or something else that numbers in the tens of trillions on any given map, which DOES make it tough to find.
     
  10. Kagatos

    Kagatos L1: Registered

    Messages:
    31
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Found the Issues.

    When I did the Pointfile it just started and ended in the void without going through any brushes. So after a bit, I found out that the origins on all the spawnroom doors, triggers, and visualizers had become way off. Once I centered them back to where they were supposed to be...no more leak.

    So my question is how did that happen? I haven't touched them since I first put the level together, and was it because of the origins getting messed up that broke all my Areaportals? Because when this all started I got the error that they no longer touched two areas.

    Cheers,
     
  11. Lancey

    aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,076
    Positive Ratings:
    1,314
    Could be that in trying to drag them you dragged their origins, but yes that would have broken your APs