Issues regarding pakrat.

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Doggo, Mar 14, 2017.

1. Doggo

Doggo L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    I'm a relatively new mapper, and this is my first attempt at using custom textures. Problem is that packrat isn't really working out for me.

It finds things and adds them just fine, but people still can't see the textures I added. Note that the entire map is filled with custom textures, specifically the textures used in css.

2. ics

aa ics http://ics-base.net

Positive Ratings:
    So if you load your map and click auto, it adds the textures into the list. But you have to save the bsp too from the menu so they get packed in.

I'm a fortune teller and i suspect many people will arrive to diss pakrat any second now.

3. Crowbar

aa Crowbar perfektoberfest

Positive Ratings:
    Don't use pakrat. It's buggy and outdated. Try VIDE (outclasses pakrat) or CompilePal (a compile tools wrapper that also does the packing and lotta more for you).
    Also, if your map is serious, don't use realistic textures where really visible. Feel free to ignore that if it's not.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. Doggo

Positive Ratings:
    I tried, but I couldn't find any tutorials for it.

5. Viperi

aa Viperi Lord Procrastination

Positive Ratings:
    There. Now it doesn't tell everything about packing with VIDE, but something.

6. Doggo

Positive Ratings:
    Alright so I used VIDE, but it still doesn't work.

7. Aquadango

Aquadango L2: Junior Member

Positive Ratings:
    Use compilepal, I got the content to work somehow.

8. Doggo

Positive Ratings:
    Tried that too, didn't work either.

9. Crash

aa Crash func_nerd

Positive Ratings:
  10. Doggo

Positive Ratings:
    When compiled(in all 3 programs.), the textures remain broken.

11. Werewolf

aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

Positive Ratings:
    Should have put money on it, because @Crowbar owes you now!

• Agree Agree x 2
  12. Aquadango

Aquadango L2: Junior Member