Indoor Lighting Too Dim

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by MagnusMastah, Nov 17, 2008.

1. MagnusMastah

MagnusMastah L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    Hey guys, I have four indoor light_spots in a spawn room, but even at 500 brightness, they're WAYYY too dim. I have two screenshots, one of my settings of the lights in Hammer, and the other of their in-game brightness. Sorry, I'm brand new to mapping. :)

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

The odd thing is, the light_environment that I have outside works perfectly; the way it should. Thanks for any help in advance.

Last edited: Nov 17, 2008
  2. TheDarkerSideofYourShadow

TheDarkerSideofYourShadow L10: Glamorous Member

Positive Ratings:
    Up your brightness (try 1000+)
    Change the distances of the 50% falloff and 0% fall off. If you have helpers on in hammer (its one of the buttons more towards the right of the top tool bar) when you select a light you'll see 2 yellow circles that you can expand outwards to increase how far the light goes. The important part is that the 0% must be a greater number than the 50%.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. MagnusMastah

Positive Ratings:
    My brightness is 1500, my 50% falloff is at 200 and my 0% falloff is at 400. Am I doing that right? Because I can't see any noticeable difference. :/

EDIT: Hmm, I guess I'll probably just use regular light entities at a lower brightness, since it seems to do what I want just fine. I was just trying it with light_spots because that's what Half-Life_Maniac's Beginner's Guide to The Spawn Room was saying. Thanks for the help, though. Or is there a benefit to using light_spots that I'm not aware of?

[​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 17, 2008
  4. TheDarkerSideofYourShadow

Positive Ratings:
    They look better, and you can do a lot with them.

Things I should have mentioned last time:
    Change the inner and outer angles. Make them something like 60 and 75, and see if thats good enough for you.

5. MagnusMastah