I want to produce a SnowPlow Pro version (Proplow)

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Resources' started by Inmate's Butler, Oct 25, 2015.

1. Inmate's Butler

Inmate's Butler L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    I'm starting a project to firstly optimize snowplow so more players on weaker pc's can play and secondly to make it usable in comp this is because we do not have a enough attack and defense in comp and i would want to bring the game mode into comp starting with snowplow.

What i need help with?

1. I need the map.
    I have not been able to get the map open in hammer I know I'm just being stupid so pls tell me how to open it.

2. what i need to do?
    I'm fairly new to map making but with a bit of guidance i can make this idea come true

3. What parts do you want changed?
    What parts of the map do you want me to optimize and change? i have a fairly good idea of wht to do but if theirs any thing i need to change pls say so.

2. Hoplitejoe

aa Hoplitejoe

Positive Ratings:
    I would recommend you don't start with this project, it would require a lot of work and most likely wouldn't end up with comp picking up the map (they have incredibly high/arbitrary standards for maps).

Try making your own A/D map for pubs, and when you have more experience come back to this.

• Thanks Thanks x 3
  3. Muddy

Server Staff Muddy Muddy

Positive Ratings:
    First of all, you should get in contact with the creators of the map (Fr0z3nR and YM) and ask for permission to modify it.

Secondly, you need to "unrepack" the map. This is the case with all Gun Mettle maps. Type the following command into the console: "bsp_repack -nocompress maps/cp_snowplow.bsp maps/cp_snowplow.bsp". Only then can you decompile it.

Hoplitejoe is right though, this will be no easy feat (especially for someone who is "fairly new to map making") and you'll be better off focusing on your own projects.

4. Inmate's Butler

Positive Ratings: