How to use damage filters on a TF2 map?

Hectormd

L1: Registered
May 18, 2012
Hi there everybody :)

I decided to create a new thread for this topic to make it easier for other mates searching for the same info.

The thing is question is... how to use the damage filters? :confused:
I have seen these 2 videos:
* Hammer Advanced - Predefined weapons and blocking damage

* How To Remove Fall Dmg On SourceSDK hammer editor

I have tried several different things, like changing that "!Activator" for TestActivator (I tried this because i saw it on https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Filter_damage_type)

But it seems like I can't set it up in the right way, and I have not been able to find this specific info (TF2 related) anywhere.

Please could anybody provide some help to use it in a TF2 map (I'm kinda new to hammer so if it's possible add as many details/steps as you can :p)?

Let's say...
A map where a bot spawns
If I attack him he can only be damaged by critical hits (like a sniper's or spy's headshot, or a jarated bot which gets a Bushwacka hit)
If I attack him with a normal hit (any normal bullet, blast damage etc), he can't be damaged.

This one would be the ideal use example, since it's exactly what I want to do, otherwise, please only point me on the general use of these damage filters.

Thanks in advance :)

Draco18s

L9: Fashionable Member
Sep 19, 2009
As far as I know, you can't target NPCs with filters. Mainly because a filter needs to be specified in the properties of the object recieving the damage and there's no way to specify that filter for players/bots.

A Boojum Snark

Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado
aa
Nov 2, 2007
First you need a filter_damage_type set to crit damage. If you have my pack installed it will be labeled as "Critical" otherwise the default SourceSDK calls it "CHEMICAL" (or you can just type in the number, it is 1048576). Name the filter something, like critdamage. Also make sure it is set to the "allow" setting.