How do you do electrical wires?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Deadeye2007, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. Deadeye2007

    Deadeye2007 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    52
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I've seen a number of maps with telephone/electrical wires (overhead), but I cannot for the life of me figure out how they were done.

    Anyone care to explain?
     
  2. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,742
    move_rope entity and multiple keyframe_rope entity

    make the move_rope(at the start of the rope/wire) and set it's next keyframe to the name of the next keyframe_rope entity. Have as long a chain of keyframe_rope entities as you want.
    set the slack to something around 90-110 to look best
    you can also change the width, but 2 usually looks good for power lines in the distance
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. DrHaphazard

    DrHaphazard L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    249
    Positive Ratings:
    12
  4. Deadeye2007

    Deadeye2007 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    52
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Thanks very much. I'm going to give it a shot tonight.
     
  5. Squirrelly

    Squirrelly Guest

    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Yeah ropes are always a good touch if for ceiling lights and fixtures.

    I like to change the slack on them if theres a lot in a certain area to not look so copied and dull.