How do I stay focused on design over detail.

Unh3lpful

L2: Junior Member
May 6, 2015
How do I stay focused on game play and stop being sidetracked by details?

I'm a beginner mapper and I've recently started a map. I had this problem with my first attempt and the game play was very flat and poor. To try and reduce this I sketched out on paper how I wanted it to be formatted before I started work.

It started pretty well, even if a little overly detailed for an alpha. However, I keep getting side tracked by prop details. I think this is because I really enjoy it, especially as I find the Hammer editor awkward to use and enjoyable by comparison.

I really want to make maps, especially if it allows me to get to the fun detailing part. So, is there anyway to make this easy to do? Is there some way to stay focused on game play rather than detail and to speed up progress?

Here are some images to show how little actually mapping I've done:
CVFpXJ7.png
(this is used as a ramp up. I used no draw to make it smoother.)

bfPIjnx.png
(This is the whole map. I can upload the plan if requested.)

Unh3lpful

May 6, 2015
you have to give yourself a gameplay goal and focus on that. what do you want the map to do?

I do have a plan (as I say I drew up how I want it to be) and idea, I want a payload map with a control point which givers the owning team advantages.

Unh3lpful

May 6, 2015
you have to give yourself a gameplay goal and focus on that. what do you want the map to do?

I do have a plan (as I say I drew up how I want it to be) and idea, I want a payload map with a control point which givers the owning team advantages.

fubarFX

The "raw" in "nodraw"
aa
Jun 1, 2009
"I want a payload map with a control point which givers the owning team advantages"
well that's great, now focus on that. surely advantages are not prop based are they. Think about the advantages you have planned and what makes them fun. and you build upon that.