How do I make the floor of a map?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Dream-Chan, Oct 12, 2021.

  1. Dream-Chan

    Dream-Chan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    I have begun working on a map and I don't quite think I'm doing the floor correctly. To make the shape more natural, I connected a bunch of blocks together. When it came time to convert them into displacements to get a more natural ground, however, I ran into a few problems. What I encountered was that I cannot sew the displacements together, and that my changes don't show up when I compile and test the map. I'm not quite sure what I've done wrong, so help would be appreciated. Screenshots can be provided when need be.
     
  2. Tiftid

    Tiftid L3: Member

    Messages:
    105
    Positive Ratings:
    76
    When you compile, entities try to find a path between themselves and the void, and if they can, the map leaks. This produces all kinds of undesirable effects, such as the "changes don't show up" behaviour you noted.
    Displacements won't block this line trace, so when you changed your floor-blocks into displacements, your entities gained the ability to trace a path straight through the displacements into the void, causing a leak. (This line-trace can be visualised in Hammer by going to Map -> Load PointFile).
    The solution is to put nodraw floor-blocks underneath the displacements, which will block this path-trace.

    As for being unable to sew the displacements, displacements require a few very specific conditions to be sewn together.
    Stealing an image from pont's google doc:
    [​IMG]
    The displacements need to either be the same size, or one is exactly half the size of the other. As you can see with the angled block in the bottom right, you can have a displacement that's only the appropriate size at the edge where it meets with other displacements and it'll still sew nicely.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Sonoma

    aa Sonoma tf_logic_lesbian

    Messages:
    149
    Positive Ratings:
    122
    I will also show some examples of displacement sewing

    DOES NOT SEW
    upload_2021-10-12_15-52-41.png

    DOES NOT SEW

    upload_2021-10-12_15-52-57.png

    DOES NOT SEW

    upload_2021-10-12_15-53-15.png

    DOES SEW

    upload_2021-10-12_15-53-32.png

    DOES SEW

    upload_2021-10-12_15-53-46.png

    DOES SEW

    upload_2021-10-12_15-53-59.png
     
  4. Dream-Chan

    Dream-Chan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Looking at screenshots from both of you makes me think I've screwed up in some way, so I'm gonna dump an overview of the wire mesh of the displacements. The rectangle at the far right corner is red spawn placeholder, everything else is the displacement ground.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. I dinne ken

    aa I dinne ken Has currently had enough

    Messages:
    295
    Positive Ratings:
    382
    Yeah that looks not great. You want to keep things on-grid. Try working in higher grid sizes like 16-64 or even 128 for blocking out big things.

    It's easier to read in the viewport, quicker to compile, and makes leaks less likely.
     
  6. iiboharz

    aa iiboharz eternally tired

    Messages:
    831
    Positive Ratings:
    1,180
    Yeah it also looks to me like you're making your displacements out of odd shapes. What you really want to do is make them out of simple square/rectangular primitives and then sculpt them into shape. None of whatever you've got going on right now.
     
  7. Dream-Chan

    Dream-Chan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    I was doing it in an attempt to get a more natural, forest clearing like area. If that's not how it's done, how should I go about it?
     
  8. iiboharz

    aa iiboharz eternally tired

    Messages:
    831
    Positive Ratings:
    1,180
  9. Dream-Chan

    Dream-Chan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Alright, and thank you for the additional resource, I appreciate it.