Help with displacement ramps.

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Homeroe, Mar 10, 2009.

1. Homeroe

Homeroe L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    i need some help here guys, im somewhat new at mapmaking. Sometimes i just open hammer and start messing around and see what comes out.

Anyways, ther is only one thing that i haven't figured out how to do, and that is making displacements ramps. something like this image:

[​IMG]

always that i make some kind of cliff, i use some stairs, rocks or boxes to make a "ramp" since i never pulled out a good way to make it. I tried to make the top side of a brush a disp. then use the geometry paint tool to make it upwards, but still looks unatural and doesn't have the side walls.

Anyone willing to give me a few tips? :confused:

KTHXBAI

Last edited: Mar 10, 2009
  2. Void

aa Void Local Man Unable To Map, Sources Say

Positive Ratings:
    You're selecting the sides of the brush too, aren't you? When making displacements, only the side of the brush you select is rendered, the others are not.

3. savageindigo

savageindigo L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    The biggest problem with displacements is you have to make them FOUR sided. I would make a simple box with 3 seperate sides (top and two sides), and create displacements out of all of the sides. If you squish down the front, it should resemble a ramp! Then playing with it you can get it do be how you want.

4. Sgt Frag

Sgt Frag L14: Epic Member

Positive Ratings:
    Make a cube. Use your vertex tool to drag 2 of the top verts down, but not all the way to the bottom verts. But very close, even one unit away would be fine.

Then you have a wedge, but it still hase four sides even on the 'triangular' sides.Select the sides and top together and make displacement. Then paint a little shape into it.

Just make sure the top side aligns with the displacement up top correctly so it can all flow together.