[Help] My map is gone.

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Sonitrok, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. Sonitrok

    Sonitrok L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    2
    I dunno where to begin. My entire map just disappeared. The grid is empty, and there is nothing at the place where the map is supposed to be.

    I ran the map to see what is happening, and i spawned in the map, everything seems to be fine. Then, i though i was just lost on the grid and i tried to find the map, so i build a little skybox with a prop inside to use it as landmark.
    Next, i launched my map and everything died. Now i just have an empty grid with a landmark.

    I letteraly lost months of work. It was my first map. It was big and full of good things. I really want to get this save back more than everything, i just can't make this map a second time. This a real nightmare.

    My save file is still there, but there is nothing on it.

    Here's the latest log, but it's useless i presume.


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Mar 2 2016)
    8 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Entity info_player_teamspawn (15424.00 -14144.00 -14880.00) leaked!
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (2544 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 13 texinfos to 1
    Reduced 1 texdatas to 1 (18 bytes to 18)
    Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.bsp
    ZIP Output overshot buffer estimate: Estimated 0, actual 54
    0 seconds elapsed
    -2.337347 -1.299201 0.000000
    -2.337347 -1.278825 0.000000
    2.063540 1.299201 0.000000
    -2.337347 1.299201 0.000000
    make_triangles:calc_triangle_representation: Cannot convert

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Mar 2 2016)
    8 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Mar 2 2016)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    8 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.02 seconds)
    52 faces
    38018 square feet [5474707.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0000 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 8/8192 96/98304 ( 0.1%)
    brushsides 48/65536 384/524288 ( 0.1%)
    planes 54/65536 1080/1310720 ( 0.1%)
    vertexes 97/65536 1164/786432 ( 0.1%)
    nodes 38/65536 1216/2097152 ( 0.1%)
    texinfos 1/12288 72/884736 ( 0.0%)
    texdata 1/2048 32/65536 ( 0.0%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 52/65536 2912/3670016 ( 0.1%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 26/65536 1456/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    leaves 40/65536 1280/2097152 ( 0.1%)
    leaffaces 52/65536 104/131072 ( 0.1%)
    leafbrushes 11/65536 22/131072 ( 0.0%)
    areas 2/256 16/2048 ( 0.8%)
    surfedges 336/512000 1344/2048000 ( 0.1%)
    edges 185/256000 740/1024000 ( 0.1%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 0/32768 0/327680 ( 0.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 0/65536 0/131072 ( 0.0%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 413/393216 ( 0.1%)
    LDR ambient table 40/65536 160/262144 ( 0.1%)
    HDR ambient table 40/65536 160/262144 ( 0.1%)
    LDR leaf ambient 28/65536 784/1835008 ( 0.0%)
    HDR leaf ambient 40/65536 1120/1835008 ( 0.1%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/216 ( 0.5%)
    pakfile [variable] 54/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 2544/4194304 ( 0.1%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 128
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.bsp
    ZIP Output overshot buffer estimate: Estimated 0, actual 54
    0 seconds elapsed
    -2.337347 -1.299201 0.000000
    -2.337347 -1.278825 0.000000
    2.063540 1.299201 0.000000
    -2.337347 1.299201 0.000000
    make_triangles:calc_triangle_representation: Cannot convert

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\sl_nightmare_jail_a0.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -windowed -noboder -w 1920 -h 1080 -novid +map "sl_nightmare_jail_a0" -steam


    I just see on this log that my entire map really got deleted.

    So, did anyone know a way to load the previous version of the map, or anything ? Please, it's really important. ;_;
     
  2. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,930
    Positive Ratings:
    1,540
    You have a leak:
    **** leaked ****
    Entity info_player_teamspawn (15424.00 -14144.00 -14880.00) leaked!
    Go into Hammer, click on Map in the toolbar, then Load Pointfile. It'll ask you to load the default pointfile, where you click on Yes. A red line should appear somewhere in your map showing the entity that's leaking and to where it's leaking. Don't delete the entity thinking that it'll solve your problem, you have to close the gap where the entity is leaking trough. Once you've done that, click on Map again, then unload pointfile, then compile again. If you try to load your pointfile again and it gives you a window where you have to search for it yourself you're leak-free.
     
  3. sevin

    aa sevin

    Messages:
    959
    Positive Ratings:
    663
    It's not deleted. The skybox texture seals the map. You created an entirely new one, which caused the rest of your map to leak and not compile properly. Get rid of your redundant skybox and spend some more time looking around your VMF. It's not gone. You probably have your visgroups hidden.
     
  4. Sonitrok

    Sonitrok L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    2

    Thanks. It's solved. But i still have to fix the main problem.
     
  5. Sonitrok

    Sonitrok L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    2

    So, i understand good: i have to delete that i added (the skybox used as a landmark) and keep searching my map around the grid after i have unhidden the visgroups ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
  6. sevin

    aa sevin

    Messages:
    959
    Positive Ratings:
    663
    There's a visgroups tab on the right sidebar. Chances are, if you don't know what it is then you haven't unchecked anything. This is what it looks like.
     
  7. Sonitrok

    Sonitrok L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    2

    I don't understand how it works. I unchecked the visgroups so the reddudant skybox disappeared.
    I am supposed to uncheck everything in the visgroup tab and delete the skybox ?

    step-by-step, what am i supposed to do ? :/
     
  8. sooshey

    aa sooshey :3c

    Messages:
    522
    Positive Ratings:
    418
    It is entirely possible that your vmf got wiped. It's happened to me before when i still had my old faulty hard drive. If the visgroups thing doesn't work, and it seems your map really is gone, then you can only do one of two things:
    1. Recover an autosave, or if you don't have atosaves set up,
    2. Use BSPsrc to decompile your most recent bsp and work from there. It won't come out perfect but it should be mostly intact. Just google to find the program, i can't easily link because i'm on mobile.
     
  9. sevin

    aa sevin

    Messages:
    959
    Positive Ratings:
    663
    Did you read what I linked you? If you uncheck the sky visgroup, it will hide ALL of your skybox brushes, including the one you want. Manually delete your redundant one and verify all the visgroups are checked. The fact that you have a leak with an info_player_teamspawn and you mentioned you only put one prop in the new skybox tells me there is stuff in the map. It's there somewhere.
     
  10. Sonitrok

    Sonitrok L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    2
    Well, i haven't copied my vmf file and i have no other file of my map to load. I only had this file and he's empty. I guess i'm fucked now.
     
  11. killohurtz

    aa killohurtz Distinction in Applied Carving

    Messages:
    1,005
    Positive Ratings:
    1,157
    Maybe you accidentally used quick hide (H, Ctrl+H) on the entire map? Try the U key to unhide everything.
     
  12. sevin

    aa sevin

    Messages:
    959
    Positive Ratings:
    663
    If you really only put one prop in the skybox an info_player_teamspawn is what's leaked, then there HAS to be at least an info_player_teamspawn floating around out there. And if that exists, I'll bet more does as well.
     
  13. Sonitrok

    Sonitrok L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    2

    Actually the player_teamspawn you are talking about is one i put on the prop in the skybox.

    Thanks for trying to help me, but nothing is hidden, everything is really gone.