Help! Custom map on dedicated server error: "is not a valid BSP file".

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Ecen, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Hello!

    First of all, I'm not a very experienced mapper, I've done some work in hammer before though. I'm also hosting a dedicated TF2 server at a home computer but when I try to start my (work in progress) on the server to show it to my friends I get the following error (I'm using the command 'changelevel mapname'):

    CModelLoader::Map_IsValid: 'maps/ctf_hospital_gamma.bsp' is not a valid BSP file.
    changelevel failed: ctf_hospital_gamma not found

    (the map name is 'ctf_hospital_gamma')
    An earlier version of the map have been runable on the server as well as all stock maps and another of my custom maps. I've tried removing and re-adding the map from the server directory, recompiled it and tried removing cubemaps. I've also fixed all errors that showed up in the scanning log using the Interlopers error-listing tool (which was to remove all my displacement).

    The map is however fully playable on the in-game creatable (LAN only?) server. That is both now and before removing anything.

    I'm running Source SDK on:

    Engine version: 2009
    Current game: Team Fortress 2

    I'm creating the map on a Windows 7 PC and the server is running on a
    Windows XP PC. Sourcemod is installed with a few plugins.

    Any ideas of what I could do? Any more information needed?

    Here is my recompile log (sorry for the long list but I can't find any spoiler tag or similar):

     
  2. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    And erhm... sorry for double-posting. The server didn't seem to accept a post the first time I clicked send...
     
  3. Jeremy

    Jeremy L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    829
    Positive Ratings:
    251
    Chances are, the map isn't in the dedicated server directory. Go to wherever the dedicated server files are (for me it's C:\Program Files\Valve\HLserver\tf\orangebox\tf; yours might be different) and see if ctf_hospital_gamma is in the 'maps' folder.

    Remember that dedicated servers require you to copy over all the files from the tf directory.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  4. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Is it in the server files?
     
  5. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Thanks for answer SirRaffi!

    That is sadly not the case though. I've copied the map file from my computer directly to the correct location on the server computer. I did also double-check this just now to be 100% sure.

    Any more ideas anyone?
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  6. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Yes, it is, sadly that wasn't the mistake. Thanks for answering though!
     
  7. Wander

    Wander L3: Member

    Messages:
    148
    Positive Ratings:
    42
    Do you have the same problem with other custom maps? If so, your server might simply be corrupted
    You could try reinstalling the dedi server
    Make sure that after uninstalling it you also remove "....\Steam\steamapps\username\source 2007 dedicated server\", in case any broken files stay behind
     
  8. Wander

    Wander L3: Member

    Messages:
    148
    Positive Ratings:
    42
    Do you have the same problem with other custom maps? If so, your server might simply be corrupted
    You could try reinstalling the dedi server
    Make sure that after uninstalling it you also remove "....\Steam\steamapps\username\source 2007 dedicated server\", in case any broken files stay behind
     
  9. Fr0Z3nR

    aa Fr0Z3nR Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums

    Messages:
    6,391
    Positive Ratings:
    4,906
    Don't worry, our server can be a bit touchy at times.

    I've merged both threads together.
     
  10. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Wander, I did a new check just to be sure and I do not have any problems with another custom map of mine. That one works perfectly fine. Would you recommend re-installing the server anyway? I don't really want to if it's not necessary but if you think it could work ill give it a try.

    I can also add to the information that the error message:

    Code:
    CModelLoader::Map_IsValid: 'maps/ctf_hospital_gamma.bsp' is not a valid BSP file.
    Is printed in the server console everytime I use the 'changelevel' command. It seems that it is printed twice everytime... if that would help somehow.
     
  11. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,535
    Common sense check: have you uploaded it to the server a second time and/or verified the size/hash? That error would be given for a truncated or otherwise corrupt file.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Thank you! I found the problem!

    I did however upload it several times and the size was correct. However, when I got thinking of a corrupt file I remembered that one of my USB sticks, that I use to transfer the map, had been corrupting files about a year ago. I had thought that the problem was gone, but it seems it isn't. So when I switched to another USB-stick the problem was solved. Thank you everyone!

    Now I just got to deal with this USB memory. Ill guess I try to format it again, but that's nothing for this forum I guess :)
     
  13. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    405
    If it's a cheap one, you might be better off throwing/giving it away, if it has a tendency to accidentally corrupt important work.
     
  14. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Yea, good idea! I should probably do that.
     
  15. Lancey

    aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,076
    Positive Ratings:
    1,314
    If you can, maybe it would be best to use Dropbox for transferring your files rather than a USB drive.
     
  16. Moose

    Moose L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    312
    Positive Ratings:
    299
    Depending on your situation, this is probably a great idea.
     
  17. Ecen

    Ecen L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Yea, I usually do use Dropbox. As the distance between my computer and the server is currently only 50cm it was actually to use a USB drive, or well... It was supposed to be, heh ^^

    So, I've now set up a Sugarsync account to sync my hlserver/orangebox/tf/maps folder directly. That should do it.