1. Hey there Guest,

    The game servers have moved to semi-dedicated hardware and IPs have changed. Please see front page server widget for up-to-date game server information.

[Help] ctf_2fort

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Martan, May 27, 2010.

  1. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Hello! I got a few thing that I need help with in 2fort :p

    First of all I want to remove the CTF sign at the start of the map
    [​IMG]

    I also get this bug when I run the map. You can see what I have done to the room. That's basicly why I got this
    [​IMG]

    As you can see here everything looks fine :) It looked like the other picture before but I managed to fix that :rolleyes:
    [​IMG]

    By the way, does anyone know how to remove/edit the timelimit for the map? It's originaly 30 minutes
     
  2. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    134
    I beleive screenshot two is a areaportal related error.

    In screenshot one what do you mean i want to remove this sign, for your server or in a map or what? Sorry but im not sure i understand.

    And timelimit cannot be changed other than editing the map or having a proper server (if its a proper server then there are several plugins).
     
  3. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I'm editing the map in hammer and I want to remove the timelimit and remove the text that pops up and says that you are going to get the intel

    Edit: Why do you need areaportal? Does it matter if I remove it?
     
  4. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no!

    Please do not edit Valve maps. You can use them for educational purposes but not for editing.

    EDIT: I guess you'll be removing that text. hmm... I still don't like this. :(
     
  5. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    It's for private use. I'm editing it as a DM map and I'm going to play it with bots :)
    Edit: I'm beginner mapper so this is kind of for educational purposes :p
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  6. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    Well I guess it could be ok that way. :)
     
  7. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    But to you know how to fix the bug that I get in pic2 (I think it's becuase of the areaportal), remove timelimit and how to remove the CTF text at pic1? =)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  8. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    2nd pic: Do you get that bug even on original 2fort or only when you compile?

    I wont be able to answer how to remove that text. Just wait for somebody else.
     
  9. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,538
    The map has no timer in it. So the time limit you see is the server timelimit (mp_timelimit cvar), so if you just want to screw around on it for DM, then set that to 0 when you are playing.

    The mission text is controlled by the tf_gamerules entity, and is set by a logic_auto. Either find the logic_auto near the bridge or just use Map > Entity Report to pick it directly. Then go to the outputs tab and remove the two outputs that send tf_gamerules the SetRedTeamGoalString and SetBlueTeamGoalString inputs.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    After I compile it. But if you look at the picture I have removed the edge so that the bots wont get stuck when they are in there, that's how it all started. It was fine until I messed it up :p

    Okay, I'll try that =)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  11. Passerby

    Passerby L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    99
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    you do relise that it is horrible leaking on you
     
  12. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
  13. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    [​IMG]

    This is from the original 2fort. If you removed that edge, you have to extend that areaportal, so it seals that it's all four sides.

    Red line shows how far it originally is, but the green one - how far you should extend it.

    EDIT: I just noticed that on RED side, there is no areaportal. :D
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Okay, thanks :D I just got one more question. What is areaportals and why do you need them? :)
     
  15. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    It help you optimize your map.
    More info here: link
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I'm getting this error at the top right corner "Warning: overflowed CClientRenderablesList group 7"
    And the problem is sloved in the blue room now. But It's like this outside spawn. And at the water in the middle and at some other places. I was just like that before too but now the blue room looks good

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    Did you change anything else and could you please show us the full compile log?
     
  18. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    This is the latest I think
    Edit: Yesturday when I tried to fix it I just blocked the hole with floor and then the areaportal errors stoped and the map looked normal. I'm not sure if it will work now

    Edit 2: I made a map shaped like a square and added a CP in the middle and the maps timelimit is unlimited, how come? I wanna do that to 2fort :)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  19. honeymustard

    honeymustard L9: Fashionable Member

    Messages:
    698
    Positive Ratings:
    285
    You've got a leak, load the point file.
     
  20. Martan

    Martan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    24
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    What is the point file? I'm sorry, I'm new to this =P