hammer error when compiling The command failed. Windows reported the error:"The syste

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by elmo, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. elmo

    elmo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    I keep getting this error, I've checked the map for leaks, and it'll keep telling me there are leaks in the map.

    I've redone the skybox 3-4 times to double check

    changed all skybox brushes to func_brush

    rolled back to previous saves and it just keeps doing it. I don't know if this is a file placement thing as I deleted my tf/maps folder contents the other night as it was huuuuge, so any help

    thanks
     
  2. phi

    aa phi Within The Vacuum Of Infinity...

    Messages:
    795
    Positive Ratings:
    1,519
    I think skyboxes are supposed to be world geometry, not func_brushes. (note to veterans: can you seal with func_brushes?)
    Check the pointfile by loading it in hammer. If it goes through a brush, make sure it's not a func_detail as those cannot be used to seal the map.
     
  3. Kill_the_Bug

    Kill_the_Bug L14: Epic Member

    Messages:
    1,466
    Positive Ratings:
    237
    you error message is clipped off so I can't read all of it.

    Skyboxes are world geometry
     
  4. tyler

    aa tyler snail prince, master of a ruined tower

    Messages:
    5,033
    Positive Ratings:
    3,980
    You skybox does have to be world geometry, making it a func_brush will just make your map leak.

    Your error message is clipped off but I think you just need to restart Steam.
     
  5. elmo

    elmo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    hammer error when compiling The command failed. Windows reported the error:"The system cannot find the file specified."

    that is the error message I am getting

    I'll try the changing of the skybox brushes to world geometry, thanks for the replies

    moved the various brushes to world, this fixed the leak, that was me just being stupid.

    However I'm still getting the error, this is the compile log


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Apr 26 2012)
    8 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.vmf
    Requesting texture value from var "$basetexture" which is not a texture value (material: skybox/sky_night_01bk)
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_girder_a1point34/nature/blendgroundtoconcrete003_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_girder_a1point34/nature/blendgroundtogravel003_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_girder_a1point34/nightfall/cliffwall_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_girder_a1point34/koth_viaduct_event/blendrockgroundwallforest_viaduct_event002_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_girder_a1point34/nature/blendrockgroundwallforest_viaduct_event_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...Bad detail brush side


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Apr 26 2012)
    8 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Apr 26 2012)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    8 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\timelmo\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_girder_a1point34.bsp" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\timelmo\team fortress 2\tf\maps\koth_girder_a1point34.bsp"

    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    "The system cannot find the file specified."

    help?
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
  6. Mr.Blob

    Mr.Blob L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    573
    Positive Ratings:
    205
    Have you got an invalid solid or an error? - use 'ALT- P' to find any errors.
     
  7. Idolon

    aa Idolon the worst admin

    Messages:
    1,538
    Positive Ratings:
    4,416
    "Find Visible Detail Sides...Bad detail brush side" is your problem. The compiler sees that and halts without creating a .bsp, and vvis/vrad don't have anything to work off of. Do what Blob said, Alt+P and see what comes up.
     
  8. elmo

    elmo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    I've fixed all the problems that came up after alt+p'ing, and still the compile is giving me the same error.

    I'm at a loss really, my first endeaver into mapping and it just screws me royally.... again.

    urgh
     
  9. phi

    aa phi Within The Vacuum Of Infinity...

    Messages:
    795
    Positive Ratings:
    1,519
    Interlopers log checker thinks that you have tool brushes applied wrong.
    Check to see if you have areaportals, clips, etc. applied wrong, because that is apparently what's causing the problem.
     
  10. elmo

    elmo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok, so now I've done all that, I can't find any brush that has the tool textures on there twice like you said, too many of them on one brush

    so now i've no idea what to do.
     
  11. phi

    aa phi Within The Vacuum Of Infinity...

    Messages:
    795
    Positive Ratings:
    1,519
    What tool textures are you using? (a screenshot of just the tool brushes would help a lot). A brush normally must be entirely covered in a tool texture for it to work properly. i.e.: an areaportal has to have all 6 sides in the tools/areaportal texture or ense it will be wonky.
    Also I heard somewhere that certain tool textures don't work in TF2 and you might be using those. You'd have to ask someone else for specifics, though, because I can't remember which ones.
    Other than that, I don't know what could be causing the problem.
     
  12. elmo

    elmo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    I don't even know what areaportal does, all I'm using is black/playerclip/skybox/trigger brushes

    I couldn't find any thing at all that fit within having more than 1 tool material on a brush.

    I'll look again.

    I tried going through each tool based vis group and compiling each one, none of them compile, and there is no error in any of the brushes.

    Just want to give up on it all now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
  13. TehStoneMan

    TehStoneMan L1: Registered

    Messages:
    46
    Positive Ratings:
    3
    It could be that you have accidently put a tool texture on a regular brush where you don't want it to be.