Game crashes on respawn? (and env_cubemap questions)

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by tony311, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. tony311

    tony311 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    On pretty much every map I've made so far, I've noticed that when I go to respawn, if I'm the only one on the server, it will crash 100% of the time. Doesn't matter how I die or if I switch teams or not, it always crashes the game (Screen whites out, Windows pops up "hl2.exe has stopped working...". I'm running Windows 7 Professional x64.

    With two players, it still crashes occasionally, but not as often, and as more players are added the chances of it crashing go down. Here's how my spawn areas are laid out:

    • One func_respawnroom for each team, named respawn_[team], set to the team's color
    • 16 spawnpoints, set to the team's color, spread out evenly around the room (still crashes even with one, so it's not like it's being blocked)
    • A supply locker and a func_regenerate encompassing it, with no spawnpoints inside the func_regenerate
    • A func_respawnroomvisualizer tied to the respawnroom

    Does anyone have any idea what's going on here? It's really hard to test maps when you have to restart the game every time you die.

    And about env_cubemap:

    How exactly does Hammer get the images for reflections? You run the command to generate them in the game, and next time you compile the map they're added. I assume they're stored in the .bsp, but at what point does Hammer acquire the cubemap images?

    Also, how are the images stored? When you run buildcubemaps, it seems like it'd be inefficient to store every possible image from every possible position in the map. Does it store one for like every square foot or so, then env_cubemap uses the nearest one?

    Last question, let's say you have a building surrounded on all sides by outdoor areas. Since (at least I assume) reflections use the nearest env_cubemap, that would mean that with one env_cubemap inside and one outside, there will be places near the outer wall that the indoors one would be the closest. Do you have to add them all around the outside to ensure when you''re outside, the closest one is outside as well, or does it work some other way?
     
  2. Pseudo

    Pseudo L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    319
    Positive Ratings:
    149
    The crash on respawn might have something to do with a lack of info_observer_point.

    Hammer doesn't acquire the cubemaps. You compile, then build cubemaps. You don't need to compile again for the cubemaps to become effective.

    One image is saved for every env_cubemap that is in your map.
     
  3. tony311

    tony311 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    OK, that makes sense. But when does the cubemap data get embedded into the map? Does TF2 store them in the file when you run the buildcubemaps command?

    Edit: Yay, the info_observer_point fixed it :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
  4. chickenm4n

    chickenm4n L1: Registered

    Messages:
    49
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    well after you compile, in the console you'll type env_buildcubemaps.

    to reiterate what pseudo said:

    You don't need to compile again for the cubemaps to become effective.

    :D, they become effective RIGHT when you buildthem with that command, all though you'll probably want to do it again at the end of your build (when you're done with your map) so that it'll refresh the cubemap pictures of any changes you've made, however you don't need to do this more than, two or three times, i'd say.
     
  5. Pseudo

    Pseudo L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    319
    Positive Ratings:
    149
    Yes, they are embedded into the map when you use the buildcubemaps command. If you open the bsp in Pakrat afterwards, you will see the cubemap files listed. They are vtf files with names beginning with "c" followed by several numbers.
     
  6. tony311

    tony311 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Thanks. Another couple questions, is there any easier way to copy/paste entities and keep their parent links? I'll have like, a door with a parented brush and when I copy/paste it, it keeps the same name and the brush keeps the same parent name, so I have to edit both with new names. Any easier way?

    And is there any way to disable the "Waiting for players" time, and the 5-second freeze at the beginning of a round? It's extremely annoying having to wait 20 seconds to even move every time I have to test a map out.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
  7. Pseudo

    Pseudo L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    319
    Positive Ratings:
    149
    For copying and pasting, you can use the Paste Special command and select "Make pasted entity names unique". You could also use the Replace command on the selection after you paste it. Another option would be to make the items a prefab and use the &i token, it will be replaced with a unique number when the prefab is placed.

    To remove the "Waiting for Players" timer, type mp_waitingforplayers_cancel 1 into the console (or bind it to a key).
     
  8. tony311

    tony311 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Next question: I hit some key and now all faces have this big grid of green, blue, and red lines when I get close enough. How do I turn that off?

    Edit: Found it, it was the 3D grid button.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
  9. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Hmm since when did lacking of info_observer_point crash team fortress? Mine didn't in my old maps.
     
  10. Pseudo

    Pseudo L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    319
    Positive Ratings:
    149
    I think it depends on where the map's origin is.
     
  11. Remix

    Remix L69: Deviant Member

    Messages:
    69
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Easiest and most mindless way to create doors would be ABS's Ultimate Mapping Resource Pack. If you don't have it already, then you should definitely download it.

    To find the door prefabs in the pack, just click the brush tool. On the right side of the screen select ABS- Doors from the categories section and then select the appropriate door model. Then hit the "Insert Original Prefab" button to throw a door in your map.

    Every door that you add will automatically be renamed (door1,door2, etc.).