Feedback on map layout

Alpaca

L1: Registered
Jul 7, 2009
I've been playing Team Fortress for a couple of months now, and pretty much exclusively the Payload gametype. I've decided to take a stab at designing a new map, based off a previous map I highly enjoyed.

The original map is "2tpl_Alpine" (Server IP: 208.53.160.147:2701), which features a slightly different version of payload, both teams are on attack, and the cart goes in both directions. It also has "Sudden Death".

So far, my map is based off of 2tpl_Alpine, however I wanted to make up for some of it's flaws, and make it slightly more balanced.

My map will be called "Power Station" and I'm using the Farm theme for this map, and the play areas boxed in using canyons.

First, here's a rough sketch of the map in Google Sketchup, I've added a bit of highlighting. Bear with me, I've have little skills in diagramming :p

PowerStationDiagram.png

The WIP area is where I'm stuck, I don't want to leave it wide open, however I don't want to have so many paths that it basically turns into a cluster**** in the center.

I've designed two "Stretches" to be used in the centre, I'm still not sure on which one I like better.

Option 1

Option one focus more on open area combat and sentry defense points. The upstairs area of the main building works the same as 2tpl_Alpine, only larger. Depending on which side of the map the bombcarts on, access to the upstairs is granted from opposite side of the map.

Straightawayoption1.png

Option 2

Option two focus's on close combat, it's pretty much demoman and Pyro heaven. This time, the main building takes up more that 70% of the straightaway, however the second floor is always open, and a large whole appears in the middle granting access to the bombcart from above.

StraightAwayOption2.png

I'm also going to give the Scouts/Demoman/Soldiers a nice little bonus for Double Jumping/Grenade Jumping/Rocket Jumping on top of each of the building options.