event_orange_x :P

Discussion in 'Server Events' started by Bacon Sandvich, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. Bacon Sandvich

    Bacon Sandvich L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    43
    event_orange_x

    This is going on the new Map Testing Facility I have created.
    [​IMG]

    Where going back to our first days of mapping and showcasing our very first maps. Got a first map please post a download location below and Ill add it to the list.

    :Submissions Closed:

    "remember the maps should be fun-bad, not terrible-bad. or the event will die within 30 minutes" - Ravidge

    -no stock map variations, maps-from-scratch only.

    -newly corrected maps are ok, probably prefered too

    Friday Night After US GameDay!
    Event will begin around:
    Central European Summer Time: 3:30 AM
    UK (British Summer Time): 2:30 AM (GMT+1)
    Eastern Daylight Time: 9:30 PM
    Central Daylight Time: 8:30 PM (GMT-5)
    Mountain Daylight Time: 7:30 PM
    Pacific Daylight Time: 6:30 PM

    Saturday Night After EU Gameday!
    Event will begin around:
    Central European Summer Time: 9:30 PM
    UK (British Summer Time): 8:30 PM (GMT+1)
    Eastern Daylight Time: 3:30 AM
    Central Daylight Time: 2:30 AM (GMT-5)
    Mountain Daylight Time: 1:30 PM
    Pacific Daylight Time: 12:30 PM
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  2. littleedge

    aa littleedge L1111: Clipping Guru

    Messages:
    983
    Positive Ratings:
    573
    Are we excepting first versions of maps we know? Like, cp_furnace_a1 or ctf_vector_a1, etc.? Or just the first maps you've made?
     
  3. luxatile

    aa luxatile deer

    Messages:
    2,289
    Positive Ratings:
    1,348
    This please: http://forums.tf2maps.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=535 (pl_smoke_a2c)

    It'll probably not be fun for more than 15 minutes, though. I suppose you could say that for most maps in this event.

    I think it's suited to be run, all it lacks is the skin for the bomb cart. I might decompile it and make pl_smoke_final tomorrow unless the submissions are close by the time I can do it. It's fine either way.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  4. Bacon Sandvich

    Bacon Sandvich L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    43
    not the first alpha, but your very first map you worked on, the last release you came out with for it.
     
  5. Nineaxis

    aa Nineaxis Quack Doctor

    Messages:
    1,767
    Positive Ratings:
    1,404
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. martijntje

    martijntje L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    539
    Positive Ratings:
    168
    [ame="http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=8484"]CP Chaos - TF2Maps.net[/ame]
    it's not that horrible though
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    405
    Two questions.
    • If the first map you worked on is a variation of a stock map, does that count? Or is it the first map-from-scratch?
    • If the latest release of the "first map" had a pakrat problem, can you submit a version that is identical except with everything correctly packed to avoid the purple checkerboards?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Caliostro

    Caliostro L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    261
    Positive Ratings:
    110
    I'm still working on my first map... Do I submit that?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. MrAlBobo

    MrAlBobo L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,059
    Positive Ratings:
    219
    my 1st two "maps" have been lost in the abyss of several reformats XD

    EDIT: Here is my 1st map that was...playable (and not lost) cp_backfire_round1_a3c
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  10. Bacon Sandvich

    Bacon Sandvich L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    76
    Positive Ratings:
    43
    -no stock map variations, maps-from-scratch only.
    -correctly packed and fixed maps are ok, probably prefered too :p
     
  11. PL-7764

    PL-7764 L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    376
    Positive Ratings:
    67
    My first map had/has broken setup gates, players spawning in the other team's spawns, and visible trigger brushes. Not to mention control points that crashed the game if anyone touched them, water that failed to render, and spaces were so tight that originally no one could even walk upright in some of the side routes. :facepalm: It also had more carves than you could safely shake a stick at, so compile time was overnight at best.

    It's disqualified for submission due to lack of playability. :p Still, I liked the layout, and might remake it someday, without the billion-and-a-half gamebreaking bugs. :O You've inspired me to put it on my to-do list.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Ravidge

    aa Ravidge Grand Vizier

    Messages:
    1,544
    Positive Ratings:
    2,495
    First map I made never had a working objective. It was just geometry and doors, respawnrooms and all that. It was never published anywhere (this was before there was a fgd for tf2).

    After that came the first map I released, here on tf2maps summer 08, a map called ctf_system_b1. The map was a failure on many points, but it was a very fun map... however, I dropped it and never picked it up again. Then a year later I started another ctf map and stole the name and NEW ctf_system was born (with the cart intels).

    I'm submitting OLD ctf_system to this event, I've recompiled it into ctf_laseralert_b1 to prevent naming mixups.

    [​IMG]

    Download: http://213.115.191.55/~ravidge/ctf_laseralert_b1.zip

    Features:
    Annoying custom announcers!
    Laser.
    Power buttons.
    Airvents that helps you get around (up).
    Extremely limited playarea, for that nice tfc deathmatch feeling.
    2-way stairs.
    Shitty custom textures.
    32 cubemaps (what was I thinking?)

    Have fun!

    Download: http://213.115.191.55/~ravidge/ctf_laseralert_b1.zip
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Shaar

    Shaar L3: Junior Member<BR>toboruin

    Messages:
    231
    Positive Ratings:
    103
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. JoshuaC

    JoshuaC L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    446
    Positive Ratings:
    145
    I never fully publicly released beta 1 of watchtower.

    Here's beta 2, but it's a little big.

    http://www.fpsbanana.com/maps/64689

    Beta 3 isn't too much different from what's in the game.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. luxatile

    aa luxatile deer

    Messages:
    2,289
    Positive Ratings:
    1,348
    Well, those times pretty much make this a US exclusive event, then. What a shame, I had been looking forward to it, but I have other business at 3:30 AM.

    Just keep in mind, half of us or so are Europeans.
     
  16. NovaSilisko

    aa NovaSilisko L42: Life, the Universe and Everything

    Messages:
    502
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    2fort. :u
     
  17. Waif

    Waif L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    413
    Positive Ratings:
    125
    Haha my first map didnt get past he compile stage..
    My first released one was broken and had blue spawn in their locked forward spawn beofre it was opened.. they were all trapped inside :p
    I felt so guilty watching the STV:blushing:
     
  18. Randdalf

    aa Randdalf

    Messages:
    1,054
    Positive Ratings:
    462
  19. Terr

    aa Terr Cranky Coder

    Messages:
    1,591
    Positive Ratings:
    405
    ctf_spring_a2_fixed
    Download Link
    Thread: [ame="http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=9301"]CTF Spring - TF2Maps.net[/ame]

    The a2_fixed version is simply reuploaded with what hopefully is correct non-bugged texture packing. It worked on my computer with sv_pure 2, at least...

    It's a CTF map with an optional objective point. It is not push-ctf.
     
  20. Icarus

    aa Icarus

    Messages:
    2,246
    Positive Ratings:
    1,182