displacement found on a(n) func_detail entity - not supported

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Open Blade, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. Open Blade

    Open Blade L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    439
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Woke up this morning and opened Hammer. Then opened my current map I'm working on. Made a few changes. Saved it and did a fast compile and it's not compiling the map at all. Does it have anything to do with that message in the compile log? I tried to open entity report to see where that entity is but it doesn't seem to list them by numbers. How can I find entity. And I have never seen windows throw in that comment at the end of the log. This is just wierd.

    Help?



    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf" "D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\Blades Maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Mar 11 2008)
    1 threads
    materialPath: d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\Blades Maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.vmf
    Error: displacement found on a(n) func_detail entity - not supported (entity 3300, brush 0)


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf" -fast "D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\Blades Maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Mar 11 2008)
    fastvis = true
    1 threads
    reading d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\blades maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp
    Error opening d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\blades maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\Blades Maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp" "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp"

    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    "The system cannot find the file specified
    ."
     
  2. Nineaxis

    aa Nineaxis Quack Doctor

    Messages:
    1,767
    Positive Ratings:
    1,403
    Might have to do with the fact that displacements cannot be func_details...
     
  3. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    you could have explained how to find it....

    Using the visgroups window in the top right of the screen use the checkboxes to turn everything off, then turn on just func_details. Fly around the map and find the one that is a displacement as well and select it and usse the ToWorld button (right side of the screen) to make it a normal brush again.
    Repeat this process untill all displacements are normal brushes rather than entities and everything should work again.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Open Blade

    Open Blade L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    439
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Okay, I fixed that problem. It was a displacement that was set to func_detail.

    However, now there is a new problem. Does it have to do with one of my displacements? There log shows an error regarding too many T-juntions. Not even sure what those are and how do I know which displacement that it's refering to if indeed this is related to displacements?

    Thanks



    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf" "D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Mar 11 2008)
    1 threads
    materialPath: d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/cp_shabbytown_beta5/nature/blendgroundtograss007_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/cp_shabbytown_beta5/nature/blendgroundtograss003_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 1908 detail faces...done (3)
    Merging details...done (1)
    FixTjuncs...
    Too many t-junctions to fix up! (2788 prims, max 32768 :: 65541 indices, max 65536)


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf" -fast "D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Mar 11 2008)
    fastvis = true
    1 threads
    reading d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp
    Error opening d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "D:\Steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp" "d:\steam\steamapps\azhelton@cox.net\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_shabbytown_beta5.bsp"
     
  5. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    This one is related to where func_details touch other brushes, I think the only way to prevent this is to have less func_details, although there may be other cures.
     
  6. Open Blade

    Open Blade L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    439
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    After some further reading, I did manage to find out that it refers to the number of func_detail edges touching world brush edges. Some other forums said to convert some of the func detail into models but I think I will just try and get the func details down to where I last had them when it worked.

    SO......... This is the latest log number.

    Too many t-junctions to fix up! (2800 prims, max 32768 :: 65,544 indices, max 65,536)

    Okay, what's wierd is that I removed some func details but the number seems to be going higher. As you can see in the first log, it was 65, 541. Now it's 65, 544. Isn't it strange that the number went up and not down? Is there a certain func detail I should be looking at changing? I mean, should I grab smaller func brushes or larger ones that touch more world brushes?
     
  7. Open Blade

    Open Blade L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    439
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Yeah, I am confused.

    Just removed more func detail and the number went up again.

    65550 indices, max 65536)

    This is going backwards.

    EDIT: just removed some more, or rather should I say moved them to world.

    65541 indices, max 65536

    so that was where I started off. I will continue to try and keep removing but it would be nice to know what type of func brushes is best suited to remove. It seems it can go up or down. I am trying to figure out just what is causing it to go up or down when I remove but I simply can't put my finger on this one.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2008
  8. Nineaxis

    aa Nineaxis Quack Doctor

    Messages:
    1,767
    Positive Ratings:
    1,403
    What happens if you add more? :p
     
  9. Open Blade

    Open Blade L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    439
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Well, I finally managed to do it. Definately no rhyme or reason on how it happened in my eyes. But I THINK what finally did it was moving some of my pillars/support beams up a tad so they didnt touch the main floor. Since they were in a dirt area where there was displacement, I could get away with that because I just mounded my dirt up a bit to cover the gap.

    Anyway, thanks for the help. This certainly is a wierd thing. Seems learning all the little things about mapping is a never ending thing.
     
  10. Seal6

    Seal6 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Can anyone please help? I'm currently trying to work past the Error and it is very irritating thanks in advance. Here is a picture
    [​IMG]
     
  11. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    I can't explain the problem any less simply than that error message.

    Find your displacement that is also a func_detail, and make it not a func_detail with the "to world" button.

    You should also have read the thread you're posting in, because you would have seen this post where I explain how to fix your problem:
     
  12. Seal6

    Seal6 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Thanks for the help man some how a little cube was made under my map it was clipped in the ground...Sorry for the trouble
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  13. Seal6

    Seal6 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
  14. worMatty

    aa worMatty Repacking Evangelist

    Messages:
    1,071
    Positive Ratings:
    832
    Your map is leaking, and VBSP has not been able to generate a portal file for VVIS to use. Load up the pointfile.
     
  15. Seal6

    Seal6 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Never mind WorMatty thanks a lot bro you solved my problem haha i'll keep you in mind if i might run across any other small issues thanks again bro.