DeathMatch

fletcherStudios

L1: Registered
May 15, 2008
Quake 1 DeathMatch- a texturing experiment

I've always loved Valve's games and esp. TF2 - it got me into trying my hand in texture mapping.

This is my first attempt at making and applying texture maps - I'm fully aware that this style isn't
the same as TF2's - that will be my next attempt!

The level I got from FPS Banana - A guy named Mike re-made all the old Quake1 maps for use in Hammer
(Mike if you read this, email me so I can give you full credit - I can't seem to find your original
upload on FPS Banana!)

Anyway - I'm just getting into this and am looking for critiques, criticisms and if anyone needs
textures, let me know!

Last edited:
Feb 17, 2009
Those textures are way too realistic for tf2, if you made them, than you shold make them more like tf ones. ;)
I can't say anything about the layout right now as i havent played it yet, but am willing to do it.

Last edited:

Xy²

Nov 15, 2009
Looks intresting.
Can u give me a picture with the layout of ur map?

T

The Asylum

I sure hope it's not just going to be purely indoors. That's the thing with taking a map made for an older game and remaking it for a newer game with a vastly different style like TF2.

Take a look at this video comparing TFC's 2Fort to TF2's 2Fort

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HLY9ezrVtU"]YouTube- Team Fortress Classic vs Team Fortress 2 (2FORT)[/ame]

fletcherStudios

May 15, 2008
Wow - thanks for everyone replying so quickly!

I will certainly try to make the textures more TF2 like - guess I need to learn more level making so I have more interesting environments to paint. Perhaps this batch of texture maps is better suited to Left 4 dead, eh?

Does this site allow map uploads, or do I need to post it somewhere and provide a link? (and if so, any recommendations?)

Thanks again for the feedback - keep it coming!

Exist

L6: Sharp Member
Oct 31, 2009
Most of the serious mappers use drop box, but you can use mediafire.