1. Hey there Guest,

    The game servers have moved to semi-dedicated hardware and IPs have changed. Please see front page server widget for up-to-date game server information.

Dawn

Discussion in 'Map Factory' started by Anagram Man, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Well, this is my FIRST map I've ever made in Hammer, so...it's...shit.

    Tell me whatcha think!
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  2. jpr

    aa jpr

    Messages:
    1,095
    Positive Ratings:
    543
    Best map I've ever played

    Seriously though, at least add some screens, or this thread is useless
     
  3. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Wait, I added some screenshots...wt- Wait, does this forum support .tga images?
    REALLY
    FFS
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  4. Nutomic

    Nutomic L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    888
    Positive Ratings:
    177
    Im not sure about the forum, but you can get jpgs with "bind f5 jpeg"

    €: There's a thanks button also ;)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  5. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    thank you!
     
  6. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    Umm, yeah... hl skybox.. :closedeyes:
    A screenshot with a house floating in the air...
     
  7. The Asylum

    aa The Asylum

    Messages:
    1,658
    Positive Ratings:
    586
    Except jpeg is a horrible format that nobody should be allowed to use

    If you must, bind jpeg to f6, but keep the lossless .tga to f5, where you can convert it to another lossless format like .png
     
  8. Engineer

    aa Engineer

    Messages:
    1,166
    Positive Ratings:
    376
    What? jpeg is not that bad, just use ''jpeg_quality 100'' ;)
     
  9. Nutomic

    Nutomic L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    888
    Positive Ratings:
    177
    Never heard before about jpg being horrible, could you give a source?
     
  10. Radaka

    Radaka L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    495
    Positive Ratings:
    242
    Jpeg images degrade slowly each time they are saved.

    click here

    Read the bottom of the page I linked.

    "When re-tested with a save quality of 100 little improvement was seen."
     
  11. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Thanks for commenting on my map guys!
    I'll be sure to use jpeg, and jpeg_quality 100 thanks for the responses.
    Now that I am back home, I can start working on the map.
    Gonna have some new screenies soon.
     
  12. lana

    aa lana Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,077
    Positive Ratings:
    1,389
    The map suffers from horrible texture choices, a HL2 skybox, and blockiness.

    JPEG compression is built around the ideals that your image contains a lot of color data that causes the size of a PNG to become large. Loading/saving the same JPEG degrades it, but if you're loading and saving it constantly you're an idiot anyway, or testing something. They also keep big pictures small in size.

     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  13. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Could you happen to tell me how to make better texture choices instead of just saying they are terrible.

    And Yes, I know what blockiness means, but how could I make it any better without fucking it up?
    The only thing I know to change the shape of an object is "Vertex Tool", so help?
     
  14. Agentkid

    Agentkid L1: Registered

    Messages:
    45
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    if you want to add a tf2 skybox go to map properties and find the 2d skybox replace
    day_01 with anyone of the following
    sky_dustbowl_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_granary_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_gravel_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_well_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_hydro_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_tf2_04
    [​IMG]
    sky_badlands_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_goldrush_01
    [​IMG]
    sky_trainyard_01
    [​IMG]

    These are the ones i know of. Sadly I don't know the snow, stormy rain, or night skyboxes.

    For textures make them uniform not brick and wood on the same building right next to each other. To make them look better try and add overlays to the textures with the Hammer overlay tool:overlaytool:Valve's How to.
    Want to try making your own overlays.By Nineaxis

    Also when you take screenshots go into console and type
    sv_cheats 1
    r_drawviewmodel 0
    cl_drawhud 0
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  15. lana

    aa lana Currently On: ?????

    Messages:
    3,077
    Positive Ratings:
    1,389
  16. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Overlay doesn't work for me.
    I dunno why.

    EDIT:
    Sorry, it doesn't work for me as in, it looks like it's clipping if you move around while looking at it.

    It's like, flickering.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  17. Exist

    Exist L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    306
    Positive Ratings:
    136
    Thats normal

    That's completely normal. When the map is compiled it will act normally.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Agentkid

    Agentkid L1: Registered

    Messages:
    45
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    if you have light entities or else it will be a black square
    sorry didnt think about that in my last post, you just have to place a couple of lights around your level.
    Adding light 200-500 is a good level for brightness.
    Lighting is hit or miss and is something you have to get used to in a sense
    but as you can see in valve maps and the nice custom ones here, lighting can set the mood for a level.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  19. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Yeah, that's why I am putting a low lighting effect(I.e. CTF "Dawn")

    Thanks.
    Thanks to both of you.
     
  20. Anagram Man

    Anagram Man L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    71
    Positive Ratings:
    15
    Sorry for the double post, I am truly, TRULY sorry for it, but:
    How do you find the 2d Skybox texture, each time I load it up with the 2d skybox texture(The skybox textured too), It gives me the void? What do I do?