Creating my first MvM map

Snowbat

L4: Comfortable Member
Apr 23, 2013
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the forums but not new to Source mapping. I've made several maps and campaigns for games like CS 1.6 all the way to L4D2.
However, I've never made TF2 maps. Believe it or not, but I only started playing and enjoying TF2 about 2 years ago.

Anyways, ever since I helped one of your members test his map (his name's Alias and makes extremely hard but fun mvm waves) I've been wanting to create an mvm map on my own.

I'd like to ask: what are some general guidelines when making an MvM map? Are there any things that I should NOT be doing, or is everything possible as long as there's a spawn area and a bomb site?

Ælement

Comfortably mediocre
aa
Dec 21, 2010
Basically, since only one of the teams are controled by humans, you can be pretty relaxed about how you make your layouts, and it seems that the biggest challenge lies in creating missions that are fun to play, rises in difficulty at a comfortable pace (with credits taken into account) and feels fresh and stimulating.

For the layout, here are a few things that will be worth taking note of:
- Make sure the bots path isn't straight forward. Players need to be able to catch up with the horde.
- Make height variation and cover, and encourage the use of the environment. MvM is much more stimulating if you have to make use of the level.
- A forwarded upgrade shop is most appreciated by most players.