Creating Custom Water

Rengaurd

L1: Registered
Oct 12, 2009
I am new to creating custom textures in general.

Currently I am trying to create a Custom Water Texture/Brush for a map I am currently working on. This brush can be real "dirty" in the sense that what i want is for them to fall into the water and it catches them instead of them falling onto a solid surface.

I am not trying to give the surface of the water any glossy look or make it reflect anything. In fact its a simple blue surface right now.

If anyone could link me to the command needed to create the water in a .vmt file or a site that lists what the commands are, I would appreciate it.

Dr. ROCKZO

L8: Fancy Shmancy Member
Jul 25, 2009
It's not quite as simple as that, however I'm not too sure of the exact step by step.. steps. It's been done before (The slidy, sticky water (Portal)) So you may want to look at that map, or ask a more experienced Member here.

Schinken

Aug 6, 2009
You want to put 2 different things together, i don't think it's possible to stop a player on the water (like you want it to) just by the texture. You might need Player clips or Trigger_pushes (so it's harder to get out) ect....

A texture consists of 2 Parts. The VTF (Valve Texture File i think) which is the Texture itself (all Water Textures in CSS use the same VTF).

And then there is the VMT (Valve Material File) which is something like a options file. This is what the 2fort water VMT looks like opened in notepad:

Code:
"Water"
{

<dx90
	{
		 	"$fallbackmaterial" "water/water_2fort_dx80"
	}

"%keywords" "tf"
	//	$forcecheap 1

"%tooltexture" "dev/tfwater_normal"
	"%compilewater" 1
	"$abovewater" 1
	//"$nofresnel" "1"

$underwateroverlay "effects/water_warp"
	"$envmap" "env_cubemap"	
	"$refracttexture" "_rt_WaterRefraction"
	"$refractamount" ".32"
	//"$refracttint" "{191 179 155}"
	"$refractblur" "1"

"$scale" "[1 1]"

//	"$bumpmap" "water/tfwater001_dudv"
	"$normalmap" "water/tfwater001_normal"

"$surfaceprop" "water"