cp_nuke

Discussion in 'WIP (Work in Progress)' started by Haas, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    http://marijn.sharper.nl/tf/maps/cp_nuke_test4.bsp
    pict(oud):
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Okey i made most of this map like a 8 months ago but the map crashed some server and i had no idea how that happend.
    Bu i removed some displacement and it seen to be ok.
    Gameplay is on this moment most important and I think it is very very good :)
    Looks could be better but making a map thats crashes look good is just stupid :)
     
  2. FaTony

    FaTony Banned

    Messages:
    902
    Positive Ratings:
    160
    No clue what you're going on about tony, but cut this hl2 fanboyism shit out
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2008
  3. grazr

    aa grazr Old Man Mutant Ninja Turtle

    Messages:
    5,436
    Positive Ratings:
    3,568
    3rd image there is a prop that would probably look nicer than that overlay; models/props_farm/vent001.mdl. Also see the models/props_spytech/vent_system* selection. They would probably complement your map along with some pipes.

    Disable the shadows on your light prop (it's a good idea to disabled shadows for most light props, if not all of them).

    I'm not sure what's happening with the room with multiple team colour computers, is that on purpose, is it a central room? If so.. there are grey variants (atleast of the ones you can stick in the wall); models/props_mining/computer_industrial01.mdl (5 versions 01 - 05). It looks confusing with multiple team computers in the same room.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  4. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    dude nice feedback.... it is ONE texture and it is't even in the bsp
    Edit there is no hl content..... the vent is tf to.
    Did you came from underneath your stone?
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  5. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    I already removed the vent it was a func_breakable but it only made the map heavier.
    About the main room I am thinking of redecorating it.
     
  6. Laz

    Laz L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    461
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    why do you have padded ceilings? some office for mentally challenged(=crazy) people who like banging their heads against the ceiling?

    2nd picture, the ceiling could use a slightly higher resolution lightmap.
    Also the wall textures in that picture makes me feel all funny inside.

    other then that, brighten it up a bit, architectural wise, it looks great! keep it up, looking forward to more of your work
     
  7. FaTony

    FaTony Banned

    Messages:
    902
    Positive Ratings:
    160
    See above mod'd post
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2008
  8. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    You know how much time i spend to filter out hl2 content you are insulting me with your crap.
    Did you read this> http://forums.tf2maps.net/announcement.php?f=9
    Since when is this a community of people bashing other mappers maps?

    How can you comment on a map on 3 pictures there is a bsp you know....
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  9. AWESOME-O

    AWESOME-O L10: Glamorous Member

    Messages:
    782
    Positive Ratings:
    66
    ziet er goed uit
     
  10. luxatile

    aa luxatile deer

    Messages:
    2,289
    Positive Ratings:
    1,348
    Don't mind him, he's just mad at everyone because they don't agree with him that HL2 content should be accepted, so he uses every chance he can get to stick his opinion in our faces.

    Looks like you have a leak, judging from those nasty shadows. Read this if you haven't yet, it's very helpful:
    http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Leak
     
  11. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    I'm not a noob in mapping I have mapped since cs 1.5
    I got a test server up:
    195.240.213.15:27015 (with fast http download



    And judging shaded quality on screenshots is not possible because I have my shades set to low.
     
  12. luxatile

    aa luxatile deer

    Messages:
    2,289
    Positive Ratings:
    1,348
    No, I'm fairly sure the shadows are like that because of a leak. They wouldn't look that bad even if you had your settings on the lowest (I've tried :p). I might be wrong, but have you checked?
     
  13. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    Yes, your wrong.
    Just try the map....