Compiled...NOT

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by ParanoidDrone, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. ParanoidDrone

    ParanoidDrone L3: Member

    Messages:
    147
    Positive Ratings:
    10
    Hammer has recently (about an hour ago) been acting up on me in very odd way. When I compiled my map to take a look at some lighting, the version that TF2 ran was not the version that I had sitting in Hammer, but instead the version that I had compiled and ran previously. I figured I had accidentally screwed up some settings, so I closed Hammer, Source SDK, and Steam, then ran them again. Still no luck. This persisted until I tried deleting the .bsp file in both the TF2 folder and the SDK Content folder, at which point it gave me an error that it couldn't find the file to copy. I then tried renaming the file completely and compiling that, and it gave me the same error. So I tried compiling the "real" map again after throwing away some more files associated with it, and it worked. Once. Not a half hour later and I'm running into the exact same problem.

    I've already taken the compile log to Interlopers, and it returned this:
    Which has been appearing in the compile log since day one, so I doubt this is the cause.

    In unrelated news, the border around the TF2 window is now visible when it wasn't previously. This may or may not have something to do with the above.

    tl;dr: When I go to compile my map to look at changes, it runs the old version, not the new one. Attempting to delete the existing .bsp and .vmx files returns an error when it attempts to compile.
     
  2. Leminnes

    aa Leminnes

    Messages:
    1,317
    Positive Ratings:
    801
    When this happened to me it was because it was running into some ungodly super-error stopping it from completely compiling.

    The only thing I can suggest is either:

    1. Save the map in a separate place (like your desktop or whatever), delete the old map from your /maps folder, and compile.
    2. Use VBCT if you don't already. If you don't, download that and run it on "final" and it will usually stop cold if there is even the tiniest of error.
    3. Make sure none of your displacements are props. I believe that is what was causing this issue for me before, although it showed up on Interlopers so that might not be your problem.

    If none of those work, then I have no idea and some of these more knowledgeable people will probably know better then me.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. FaTony

    FaTony Banned

    Messages:
    902
    Positive Ratings:
    160
    Displacements can't be props. They can be func_detail's and stop map from compiling. :) But there's just some noob error in his map. Post compile log.
     
  4. fubarFX

    aa fubarFX The "raw" in "nodraw"

    Messages:
    1,632
    Positive Ratings:
    1,723
    eveytime my map wouldn't compile, it was because of a displacement.
    if you have a func_detailed displacement or a displacement where 2 point are on the exact same location, it won't compile.

    when these error occure, the map won't compile if there is no bsp because hammer has to start from scratch. when hammer can find an older bsp however, it'll use the information in this older bsp to complete the compile.

    solution? find the bad displacement and fix/redo it
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  5. ParanoidDrone

    ParanoidDrone L3: Member

    Messages:
    147
    Positive Ratings:
    10
    After saving the file to desktop, searching my entire Steam folder and deleting all files with "multiplex" (my map name) in the filename, re-saving the file to the proper folder, and compiling, I got this:

    Code:
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1"
    
    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (May 19 2009)
    2 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/ctf_multiplex_a1/nature/blendrockgroundwallforest_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/ctf_multiplex_a1/dev/dev_blendmeasure2_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 570 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1"
    
    Valve Software - vvis.exe (May 19 2009)
    2 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters:  -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1"
    
    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (May 19 2009)
    
          Valve Radiosity Simulator     
    2 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']
    
    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf\maps\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp"
    
    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
      "The system cannot find the file specified."
    
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steam.exe
    ** Parameters: -applaunch 440 -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf"  +map "ctf_multiplex_a1"
    After the error message appeared in the log, I got a prompt to either abort or continue. I chose continue, and TF2 ran, but it did not load the map as usual.

    VBCT says that there's something up in VBSP:
    Code:
    Map File Selected:   C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.vmf
    
    Full Compile Selected!
    Compile Start Time: Monday, February 01, 2010,  8:05:30 AM
    
    -------------- Start Compile BSP ----------------
    VBSP Started, Please Wait!
    
    VBSP:  c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe  -game  "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1"
    
    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (May 19 2009)
    2 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/ctf_multiplex_a1/nature/blendrockgroundwallforest_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/ctf_multiplex_a1/dev/dev_blendmeasure2_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 570 detail faces...done (1)
    Merging details...
    Compile Complete for this module.
    VBSP Completed: Monday, February 01, 2010,  8:05:37 AM
    Abnormal Exit in VBSP ParseLog caught!
    Catch: in vbsp_finish!
    I also checked the only displacement in the map and it says it's a solid with 6 faces, not a func_detail.

    EDIT:
    Now it's working. Apparently cordons can only be so big before Hammer throws up all over itself. (How's that for anticlimactic?)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  6. FaTony

    FaTony Banned

    Messages:
    902
    Positive Ratings:
    160
    Merging details...
    *crash*

    Something in geometry.
     
  7. ParanoidDrone

    ParanoidDrone L3: Member

    Messages:
    147
    Positive Ratings:
    10
    I take back my former edit. It managed to compile, but now I'm back at square one with respect to the map not updating properly when it compiles. I'll take a look at the geometry in the meantime.

    ...even though I don't remember changing it when this first started...
     
  8. fubarFX

    aa fubarFX The "raw" in "nodraw"

    Messages:
    1,632
    Positive Ratings:
    1,723
    alright, there's something in your geometry preventing bsp to complete. and not having a bsp prevents vvis and vrad to complete. if you had an older bsp version of the map in your map folder however, hammer would use this older version to update vvis and vrad which will both be the exact same since there was no change made in bsp.

    Code:
    Valve Software - vvis.exe (May 19 2009)
    2 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    
    that means vvis can't find any bsp. meaning you cleaned your map folder which is good

    Code:
    Valve Radiosity Simulator     
    2 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']
    
    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\paranoiddrone\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\ctf_multiplex_a1.bsp
    
    same happens with vrad

    and yeah, like fattony said it's something in "merging details..." that craches bsp.

    so yeah there's got to be something wrong with your geometry.
    -try alt+p and see if you have any errors
    -try compiling with the displacement visleaf off, in case there is a displacement somewhere that you made by mistake.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. ParanoidDrone

    ParanoidDrone L3: Member

    Messages:
    147
    Positive Ratings:
    10
    Time for a brief update:

    I haven't tested this as extensively as I would have liked since this whole debacle has sort of drained my will to map for the day, but so far...it seems to be working again. I cordoned off a small area, compiled, it worked fine, I changed a few light locations, compiled again, and the changes were accurately reflected.

    (Of course, knowing my luck, it'll be back to not working again tomorrow. Ugh.)

    What changed between it not working and working: I deleted three props that I had copied from ABS's prop library, noticed were _dynamic, and had switched to _static. (The lit lanterns, if it matters.) I also changed the angle of a few light_spot cones, but I don't think that would have made a difference. Nothing else, including the (so far) lone displacement on the map, was altered.

    fubar: What does alt+p do, exactly?

    Note to self: Get the exterior portion finished so I can stop relying on the cordon tool.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  10. fubarFX

    aa fubarFX The "raw" in "nodraw"

    Messages:
    1,632
    Positive Ratings:
    1,723
    it's the short for map> check for problems.
     
  11. ParanoidDrone

    ParanoidDrone L3: Member

    Messages:
    147
    Positive Ratings:
    10
    I think I nailed the cause: a func_detailed sphere. With all of its vertices out of whack for some reason -- I never touched it once I created it, so how they got moved out of alignment is beyond me. But deleting it fixed the problem.

    (Why it only decided to act up now and not the fifty bazillion times I compiled before is also beyond me.)

    Too bad, because I was hoping to make it an aesthetic focal point. I guess I'll need to butter up one of the modelers here... <.<

    Thanks for everyone's help.