PL coldtop a3

Made by Paulmega

  1. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    My new project, pl_coldtop! I've decided to halt my process on pl_city because, frankly, the map was getting on my nerves a bit.

    This new (quite long) payload map is set on top of a cold mountain. No textures yet but expect snow and wood.

    First playtest of the map with around 12 players showed that the map was, to my surprise, already quite balanced.


    To do:
    - Clip better
    - Improve displacements

    Later:

    - Texturing
    - Detailing
    - Skybox
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015
  2. RubbishyUser

    RubbishyUser L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    414
    Positive Ratings:
    242
    If your top is cold we might start seeing raisins under it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    Good, A snow theme (everything I like) and I download the map so let's test it :)

    PS : I collect maps for watch changes
    PPS : Sorry again for my bad english
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2015
  4. ExtraCheesyPie

    ExtraCheesyPie L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    484
    Positive Ratings:
    127
    You don't have to say sorry, it's very readable!


    I'm always amazed how terrible some native speakers are at spelling
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  5. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    Yep it shows on some forums (counting TF2maps.net) that people write bad English, but sometimes it's because they use google translation (which is roughly corrected). But I use it if I find no phrases to said (as in this text). And thank you for telling me that I write good English

    PS : I found some bugs in the map so I'll send the pictures tommorow ;)
    PPS : in the other text I didn't used google translation
    PPPS : After use google translation, I changed a few words that are more understandable
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2015
  6. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
  7. RubbishyUser

    RubbishyUser L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    414
    Positive Ratings:
    242
    Before someone says that in an alpha problems like holes and floating props can safely be ignored, I'd like to point out that. at least with holes, leaks can be created when the map is taken out of the giant skybox and starts to be optimised, so it's at least a little useful.

    Also alex, the error shown in the last screenshot is called "z-fighting" for future reference.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    Good feedback, thanks! Yeah about all those holes, I'm not really good with displacements (the snowy ground) and I often screw them up. I'll try to fix it in the next version!

    About the other bugs, I got a lot of them fixed / made better in A2! I'll be uploading that version real soon.
     
  9. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    Oh hey thanxs for the word (i didn't remember this word)

    It's not a hole with leaks it's just a little hole with a nodraw box (if it's happend, every areaportals doesn't exist (for me))
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2015
  10. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    A2 is live:

     
  11. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    DAT GIANT UPDATE O_O (i'm freaking dead)

    Big clap for you (thanxfull i still get the a1 version for show difference ;) )

    And let's check glitch would you ?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2015
  12. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    Thanks man! It's been a lot of work as well, believe me haha

    Anyhow, about the bugs / glitches: I leave fixing them more for when I'm sure I've got a good layout; it sucks to completely perfectionise one area only to have to rebuild it completely later on. Think beta for bugfixing!

    (i did fix the floating props ;D)
     
  13. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22

    Thanxs very much for fixing the props :cool1: but can I make a screen of the map w/ every health and ammo pack emplacement + spawn for each points (for new players) ?

    And no bugs/glitchs founds (miracle ?)
     
  14. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    Oh if you want to do that, go on ahead! I'm releasing a _fixed version real soon with some fixes of spawns, but the layout stays the same
     
  15. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    okay. And i ended the "help" map (w/ ammo/health pack emplacement, spawns/points position)

    Keep show in under 5 minutes ;)

    Edit #1 : http://i.imgur.com/OoEWKdR.jpg?1

    Edit #2 : Spawn A for red is littely in right.

    Start bomb -> A : 5 minutes
    A -> B : + 5 minutes
    Same thing for B -> C and C -> D (or death pit)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015
  16. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    That's awesome man! I'm not sure of my own placement of the pickups yet but I hope lots of playtesting will help me out with their placement.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    Hi, can I(or you) reduce kilobits on your maps (for laggy players and because i littely lag when i go to the final point :/) ?

    And I found a bug at C point to final
    We can see the upper of the basement if you rocket/sticky jump outside
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015
  18. Bull

    Bull L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    178
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    Yeh I still need to add roofs to C area and Final. Will do so for A3.

    I'm not really trying to optimise my map yet, that'll come as soon as I've got a definite layout. Then I'll make sure your FPS won't drop as much anymore.

    Thanks for playing, btw!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    No problem, and it's my computer is lagging (after remove over 800 unused files O_O my game turn in 40 FPS)

    Edit #1 : holy jeezs è_é http://i.imgur.com/uwDi2Ry.jpg without noclip
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015
  20. Prolyfic⁸

    Prolyfic⁸ L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    Hi, what's up today ;)