Cannot get teleporters to work

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Deadeye2007, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. Deadeye2007

    Deadeye2007 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    52
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    The process I followed:

    1. I created a brush with the trigger texture, large enough to encompass a whole player.

    2. I turned that brush into an entity trigger_teleport and named it blue_tele_1.

    3. I created a info_teleport_destination entity and named it blue_dest_1.

    4. I went back to the properties of the trigger and changed the destination to blue_dest_1.

    5. I ran my map - - - nothing happens when entering the trigger.

    What did I miss?
     
  2. Deadeye2007

    Deadeye2007 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    52
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    . . . Flags>Client seemed to get it to work for some reason.
     
  3. Armadillo of Doom

    aa Armadillo of Doom Group Founder, Lover of Pie

    Messages:
    949
    Positive Ratings:
    615
    Yah, this was originally a DM entity, so it's bound to be a little buggy in TF2. Back in DM days, you could teleport everyone from players to cars :D
     
  4. Deadeye2007

    Deadeye2007 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    52
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I'm using teleports as a substitute for ladders in my map. The ladder is still there, but when you approach it you will be teleported to where the ladder would have taken you. Best I could do considering ladders don't work so well.
     
  5. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    i was wondering if there was a way to randomize which info_teleport_destination the teleport leads to...

    would i need to simply place multiple info_teleport_destinations all with the same name and then it would chose one at random or is it more complicated than that.

    thanks in advance.
     
  6. dirtyminuth

    dirtyminuth L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    221
    Positive Ratings:
    14
    One option is to create a timer with very random firing intervals. Use this timer to increment a counter. Use the counter to specify which teleport target to use. This should allow you to "carry over" the random aspect of the timer to teleporting.
     
  7. PandaN

    PandaN L1: Registered

    Messages:
    30
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    If you just made heaps of the same destination name, it would go to what it thinks is the first one everytime, so that idea wouldnt work. You can just have a timer for example as dirty said that either changes the trigger's variable, or replaces that trigger with another one that points to elsewhere :)
     
  8. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    im not very experienced in the whole timer /tigger thing, could u outline what i would do with the names of the ents?


    thanks in advance.
     
  9. dirtyminuth

    dirtyminuth L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    221
    Positive Ratings:
    14
    Well, here is how I would do it off the top of my head. Not tested, and I'm inexperienced with entities! What this setup should do is when you touch the teleport trigger, it will randomly set the teleport destination to one of 16 possible values. This setup does not require a timer.

    Entity List:

    1. info_teleport_destinations (16)
    Create 16 of these, with names teleport_destination_X, X = [1,16].

    2. trigger_teleport
    Create one of these, with name teleport_00.

    3. logic_case
    Create one of these, with name case_00.
    Enter 1-16 for the 16 case fields.

    Entity I/O:

    1. info_teleport_destinations (16)
    No I/O required.

    2. trigger_teleport
    OnStartTouchAll > case_00 > PickRandom

    3. logic_case
    16 Outputs, as follows:
    OnCaseX > teleport_00 > AddOutput > Remote Destination teleport_destination_X
     
  10. dirtyminuth

    dirtyminuth L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    221
    Positive Ratings:
    14
    You mentioned in the other thread that my suggestion did not work. Can you give specifics? We may be close to a solution, but held back by something as silly as syntax.
     
  11. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok, well i tried basically exactly what u said but i switched the names of the ents to suit my system, and when i stand in the trigger_teleport nothing happens at all, i dont teleport.
     
  12. dirtyminuth

    dirtyminuth L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    221
    Positive Ratings:
    14
    Decided to bite the bullet, get off my ass, and try my own crazy idea.

    And it works! :)

    Here's how:

    Setup:
    -----
    info_teleport_destinations:
    Name: teleport_dest0X [X is 1-4].

    trigger_teleport:
    Name: teleport00
    Start Disabled: No
    Remote Destination: teleport_dest01
    (Flags): "Clients" is checked

    logic_case:
    Name: case_00
    Case 01 : 1
    Case 02 : 2
    Case 03 : 3
    Case 04 : 4

    I/O:
    -----
    teleport00:
    OnStartTouch > case_00 > PickRandom

    case_00:
    OnCase01 > teleport00 > AddOutput > target teleport_dest01
    OnCase02 > teleport00 > AddOutput > target teleport_dest02
    OnCase03 > teleport00 > AddOutput > target teleport_dest03
    OnCase04 > teleport00 > AddOutput > target teleport_dest04

    Operation:
    -----
    When you touch the trigger_teleport, the logic_case is targeted and one of the OnCase0X outputs fires at random. Each OnCase0X output changes the remote destination of the teleporter.

    Extras:
    -----
    You can determine what fields AddOutput has access to by creating an entity, populating all fields, and executing "ent_dump <entity name>" in console, in game. You can see entity I/O in console by executing "developer 2" in console, in game.

    Example Map : http://tf2maps.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=148
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  13. trackhed

    trackhed L3: Member

    Messages:
    106
    Positive Ratings:
    2
    rep+ for dirty
     
  14. phatal

    phatal L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    259
    Positive Ratings:
    21
    O I do love logic and trigger work. Makes me want to leave work early just to get in Hammer. :D
     
  15. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    thanks alot dirtyminuth, it works great.
     
  16. DrHaphazard

    DrHaphazard L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    249
    Positive Ratings:
    12
  17. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok so i have come across another issue with these teleporters and im looking for some more great help. so they work fine, but i want a sound to play when they are used. so i placed an ambient generic at the teleport base and it plays the tele spin sound on loop all the time. but i want to have the tele_send and tele_receive sound play when it is used. and it seems to work the way i set it up. i placed an ambient generic at each tele destination and put more outputs in the logic_case that play it when the appropriate tele is used. the problem is the send and receive sounds are REALLY quiet, the volume is set to max and all that but its basically inaudible. any other ideas? i was wondering if there was way to trigger a sound ent that plays only for the specific client that triggers it. something other than anbient_generics?

    thanks in advance

    edit* also, grass detail sprites show up in hammer with some blend textures when i use them on displacements, but not in game...wtf?
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2008
  18. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
  19. Spamdini

    Spamdini L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    1
  20. trackhed

    trackhed L3: Member

    Messages:
    106
    Positive Ratings:
    2
    ok i made this, but not the client specific sounds

    you just have to mess with ambient generics volume, start volume and fade out times