Black as Hell Map

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Teddy Schnapps, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. Teddy Schnapps

    Teddy Schnapps L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    51
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    Black Map Error

    After compiling the new version of my map I went in game and my map was completely black everywhere there was brushes but props were lit as normal and env_glow and the skybox image worked fine, just everything else was void of light.

    -Checked my cubemaps and they were working fine.
    -Checked the compile log and no errors came out.
    -Checked my console and again no helpful hint as to the problem.

    Finally I came to the conclusion that it must be something to do with my light_environment entity and/or shadow_control entity. But I'm not sure...

    So if someone could please help fix this I'll kiss their feet and chant their name to the heavens. Here are my pics of them with properties also:


    Before
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ke7vyo0vega3raf/Screenshot%202014-07-07%2022.16.25.png
    After
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/tnqu2bo19fedxof/Screenshot%202014-07-10%2019.35.10.png

    light_environment
    http://gyazo.com/59c6e18c646a30d3e58765844a875d1b
    brightness: 132 158 166 600
    ambient: 92 107 114 400
    brightnessHDR: 139 164 171 500
    ambientHDR: 92 107 114 500


    shadow_control
    http://gyazo.com/d7a1693fda6ded763452959944b72746
    shadow color: 95 122 131 300

    Thank you for your time :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  2. The Asylum

    aa The Asylum

    Messages:
    1,658
    Positive Ratings:
    439
    You might have a leak, VRAD sometimes does wacky things when there's a leak
     
  3. Teddy Schnapps

    Teddy Schnapps L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    51
    Positive Ratings:
    22
    I tried point file and found no leaks. I think it's something more then that. I also noticed this error in the console too:
    *** Encountered VTF file with an invalid minor version!
    *** Encountered VTF file with an invalid full header!

    I'm assuming this might be part of it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Egan

    aa Egan

    Messages:
    1,318
    Positive Ratings:
    1,512
    This happened to me once on my 72hour map from January (screenshot), and also to Bakscratch just yesterday.

    Apparently this happens when a solid on your map is corrupt somehow. The way to find it is to binary search for it using the cordon tool. So using the cordon tool boundaries, draw a box around half your map, toggle the cordon tool (the left button), and compile your map (VVIS on FAST so it goes really fast). If the light error exists still then you know the corrupt solid is in that half of the map, if not, it's in the other. Keep doing the cordon-tool bounds on increasingly smaller portions of your map until you find specifically what brush it is (long process, I know) and remake that brush. This fixed the issue for me back in January, and for Bakscratch yesterday.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1