Battlefield Heros, or Team-Duty-field Heros?

ryodoan

Resident Bum
Nov 2, 2007
Ok, so I have a free subscription to "Games For Windows" put out by 1up. Generally it has a couple interesting articles, but the way they seem to hang off certain publishers balls tends to get on my nerves at times.

For instance, I have really enjoyed the Battlefield series, well up to a point.

I really liked Battlefield 1942, I really like BF1942: Modern Combat. Then, they released Battlefield 2, and while I was reluctant at first, I grew to really like it.

I liked all these games for a couple reasons.
  1. Large maps allowing 32 vs 32 gameplay to feel like you were playing on an actual battlefield.
  2. Sniper vs Sniper combat on a huge map with tons of players wandering around. Sure, I dont get many points, but I have fun.
  3. In BF2 they implemented a weapon Unlock system, which is actually one of the most balanced unlock systems for an online FPS I have played yet. Yes, the unlocked guns give you advantage, but they dont make you invincible, and you can get your first unlock relatively easily.
Next, I bought Call of Duty 4 recently, and while I like the game, I also cant help comparing it to BF2 since they are both modern shooter games with an unlock system. So here are some things I don't like about CoD4 (you will see where this is going eventually)
  1. Small maps. Sure, they have 30 vs. 30 person servers online, but the maps were only designed for 8 vs 8 game play, and to make matters worse, some maps seem to only be designed for 4 vs 4 gameplay. It seems that rather than take a BF2 approach with different map sizes for different game sizes, they made a once size fits all solution, that does not fit.