art vs design

Taffy

L1: Registered
May 25, 2010
hey folks,

im new to mapping and enjoy designing maps and then using the gen textures to make it but i'm not very artistic, i can't really do much better than cartoon dogs, so when i come to doing all the detail and making it look all TF2 style, i seem to get bored and fail cause it looks rubbish.

Just looking for any advise or wondering if you ever get mappers working together, one doing designing and one doing detailing???

look forward to a responce :D

HeaH

L8: Fancy Shmancy Member
Oct 2, 2008
Hi, welcome to the site!

Nope, one mapper does all the work. There are a few collaborations out there (cp_furnace mostly), but it's not the normal thing to do.

DjD

L5: Dapper Member
May 18, 2010
sure, it sometimes happens that mappers team up and split the work.
It is helpful because both have their ideas and inspirations and can combine them to perfect the outcome. another advantage: "Two heads are better than one." meaning map errors will be rarer because 2 people are overlooking the map process.
You can find a couple maps created by more than one mapper in the map database of this site.

Jesmonda

Jan 30, 2010
welcome mate, i'm new myself, just working it all out, (leaks will be the bane of your life, as i've found, but don't let that worry you just yet. )

texturing is indeed numbing at times, especially when your trying to make a texture fit to a brush to look nice. you'll find that if you look at some of the maps already within the SDK, just looking around at the art style and how it's done will help you with ideas, but if they aren't enough, be sure to get more maps here to help you. (but ignore mostly everything else, the sheer work they've done at first sight almost scared me off mapping, but once your ready and have decent knowledge then have a look at how they've done it. optimization etc. )