Alright, I'm past most of the tutorials. I've made 5 maps and I want to improve and break the cycle.

• If you're asking a question make sure to set the thread type to be a question!

KineSquared

L2: Junior Member
Sep 30, 2012
So I've created a couple maps at this point, some of which play badly, some of which play bad, and I've made dozens of maps that never made it out of pre-alpha. Yet it seems like some issues seem to come up over and over again, and the most common complaint I've had is "awkward geometry" and confusing layouts. I've tried to address some of these in maps, though I fear I've not really made any significant improvements. In addition, 3/5 of my published maps are on a4 or less, which may just be how it goes but I keep feeling like I just build these things which require huge systemic changes.

Any advice or tips? I would love some tips, tricks, or even some kind of mentoring, as I've had little (not none, thank you yoyoyo). I'm not some complete noob who needs help setting up a spawnroom, and I would love to go over some of my old maps one on one and see if I can get some assistance picking apart the flaws in my "natural" style.

Here's a list of my works, from most recent to oldest, to help jog anyone's helpful memories if you've tested them.
Woodworks
1-jpg.91981

Mintmill
20181108111904_1-jpg.90867

Drumwalk
20180806163042_1-jpg.85460

Astron
20180629204113_1-jpg.80677

Polish
20180619220243_1-jpg.80193

Thank you for any and all feedback!

Wyvern

Certified TF2 Cartographer
Feb 16, 2018