1. Hey Guest, welcome to the new forums. Be sure to check out this thread to get all the information you need on the cool new stuff!

Model Street Lamp

Discussion in 'Models & Textures' started by Exist, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Exist

    Exist L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    299
    Thanks Received:
    112
    you know those lamps...the nice ones...


    It's finished!

    Mega thanks to Haas for being a sport and texturing it!

    Downlink is now finished mdl
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  2. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,033
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Well i can't help at-all at the moment but i can tell you your street lamp does look nice.
     
    Exist thanked this.
  3. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hey,
    I did it :)
    [​IMG]
    http://twitpic.com/138c0v
    Download:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?qy4jfmbjejm
    I had some problems with your normals, normally you flip them outside, but they got flipped inside, so I flipped them inside...
    UV map isn't the best looking one(updated looks pretty good), and I didn't check the scale in source.
    In the download all the source files are there except the compile.bat since my account info was in there.
    Bat file:
    Code:
    @"C:\Steam\steamapps\YOURACCOUNT\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\studiomdl.exe" -game "C:\Steam\steamapps\YOURACCOUNT\team fortress 2\tf" lamp_001.qc
    pause
    When you have these files set-up it is pretty easy to compile models.
    Edit updated the uv map removed some edges.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
    Exist thanked this.
  4. Exist

    Exist L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    299
    Thanks Received:
    112
    whoa, It's good, but so small in source...not even 1 unit >.>
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  5. Acumen

    aa Acumen Annoyer

    Messages:
    669
    Thanks Received:
    591
    cool stuff, Haas and Exist :)

    maybe next time don't promote you "don't care of seeing it finished".
    i don't know, kinda made a weird impression when i read that. i mean why release anything, if you don't care at all, in the first place. good you edited that out now :)
     
  6. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yeah it happens :p
    You can just scale it up in blender and export it again. You don't need to update the UV map.
    You also need to do this with the psy model
    I btw learned this all from this tutorial:
    http://www.dvondrake.com/tutorials/modeling-for-source-in-blender