1. Hey Guest, welcome to the new forums. Be sure to check out this thread to get all the information you need on the cool new stuff!

Our servers are now running a Steam Workshop rotation, if you'd like your map to be considered for inclusion on our rotation, post in the rotation discussion thread

Or, if you just want to play some of the best community maps the Workshop has to offer, you can join our servers by clicking these links:

Model Street Lamp

Discussion in 'Models & Textures' started by Exist, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Exist

    Exist L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    306
    Positive Ratings:
    112
    you know those lamps...the nice ones...


    It's finished!

    Mega thanks to Haas for being a sport and texturing it!

    Downlink is now finished mdl
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  2. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Well i can't help at-all at the moment but i can tell you your street lamp does look nice.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    Hey,
    I did it :)
    [​IMG]
    http://twitpic.com/138c0v
    Download:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?qy4jfmbjejm
    I had some problems with your normals, normally you flip them outside, but they got flipped inside, so I flipped them inside...
    UV map isn't the best looking one(updated looks pretty good), and I didn't check the scale in source.
    In the download all the source files are there except the compile.bat since my account info was in there.
    Bat file:
    Code:
    @"C:\Steam\steamapps\YOURACCOUNT\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\studiomdl.exe" -game "C:\Steam\steamapps\YOURACCOUNT\team fortress 2\tf" lamp_001.qc
    pause
    When you have these files set-up it is pretty easy to compile models.
    Edit updated the uv map removed some edges.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  4. Exist

    Exist L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    306
    Positive Ratings:
    112
    whoa, It's good, but so small in source...not even 1 unit >.>
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  5. Acumen

    aa Acumen Annoyer

    Messages:
    704
    Positive Ratings:
    593
    cool stuff, Haas and Exist :)

    maybe next time don't promote you "don't care of seeing it finished".
    i don't know, kinda made a weird impression when i read that. i mean why release anything, if you don't care at all, in the first place. good you edited that out now :)
     
  6. Haas

    Haas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    34
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    Yeah it happens :p
    You can just scale it up in blender and export it again. You don't need to update the UV map.
    You also need to do this with the psy model
    I btw learned this all from this tutorial:
    http://www.dvondrake.com/tutorials/modeling-for-source-in-blender